Pork Tenderloin in Bourbon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Excellent - a great tasting recipe that is fast and simple. What a nice marinade. I did add a little extra (+2 tbsp) brown sugar and peppered the meat before marinating, per the reviews. Mine (3.5 lbs) took about 1 hour 20 minutes to be done, though. I cooked the marinade for a glaze - really a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This is the first time I have ever made pork tenderloin and it was wonderful. I didn't have any bourbon so I did as another reviewer did and replaced it with 1/4 cup of apple juice and tsp of vanilla. I had put slits in the meat and rubbed it with the garlic, salt, and pepper. I then marinated it with the sauce for about an hour. Cooked it for the time and the rest of the sauce I added a little more brown sugar cooked it on top of the stove and in the last 10 mins of cooking the meat I poured it on the meat to get a nice glaze. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle El Homsi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I am just an average cook and when my husband took a bite of this I got an "Oh Wow!". I took the advice of others and made extra marinade so that I could turn into gravy. My kids, Mother in Law and husband devoured it. I had a small chunk of meat left over so I took it to work the next day. Not all that great as a left over but will make again as a main dish very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was so easy to make and so good. grilled it for approx. 45 minutes. Guest who didn't even like pork, LOVED IT! May try this marinade on steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I followed the recipe until it said to discard the marinade. I put it in a small saucepan, removed the garlic & simmered it until it was reduced to syrup. When the tenderloin had 10 minutes of cooking time remaining, I glazed it with the reduced marinade. It gave it more flavor & a nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was tasty, I think next time I might double the marinade and try making a sauce like others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I had no bourbon so played around with this and it was So Good! To "replace" it I doubled the brown sugar, added 3 tsp-ish Bourbon vanilla extract, and added about 1/2 cup of coffee. The Bourbon vanilla has nothing to do with the liquor but is named after the plantations in France from which it comes. It has a smooth, smokey flavor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I made more marinade than this recipe called for so that i could make a gravy/sauce with it, as suggested by other reviewers. I made a couple changed to the marinade right from the get go.. just based on my taste. I used about 1/3c. gentleman jack whiskey (because that is what we had in the house) about 1/2c. soy sauce and threw in like 3 or 4 heaping tablespoons of brown sugar. Also, I put in 4 smashed garlic cloves. I marinaded for about 2 hours, put the marinade in a pot on top of the stove for the sauce then put the tenderloin in the oven for about 40 min. at 400 degrees.. For the sauce, I skimmed out the chunks of garlic cloves, then added about a tablespoon and a half of butter, and used a whisk to stir in flour until it was the consistancy I was looking for. I also added a bunch of water to dillute the taste. Overall, the meat itself was great. Very tender and juicy. However, the whiskey taste was overpowering, especially after putting the sauce on top. I will probably try this again, but I will only put in a couple tablespoons of whiskey so it isn't so strong. Otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanytia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
There wasn't any left! Didn't have bourbon, so I substituted whiskey and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieInNc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was really good. I marinated the pork for about 18 hours, used only 3 tbsp bourbon though. I also took other reviewers' advice and made a gravy from the left over marinade, which was great on top of the pork and garlic red potatoes I served with it, also from this site. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States