Pork Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2000
You may want to cut back on the Cayenne and Chili Powder unless you are a huge fan. Cook the pork a day or two ahead or you'll be cooking all day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
I enjoyed this recipe but I wasn't clear on some directions. Do you drain the corn or not? I think next time I will drain corn and reduce amount to 1 can since the corn added a certain amount of sweetness that I didn't care for. I also increased amount of chilli since we like our food hot. I also topped with cheddar cheese and baked till cheese melted. Overall, good recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This was absolutely delicious! I had leftover pork roast so I didn't have the 2 cups of juice to simmer the pork in so I just used chicken broth. It turned out wonderfully but I would recommend cutting back on the cayenne pepper if you don't like things too spicy. I used diced tomatoes with jalepeno peppers since my family likes things really spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Hubby says this is definately "A Make Again" recipe! YUMmmmm! About the only changes I made was: 1.) Added an extra egg, 1/2 c. more cornmeal & 1/4 c. more milk. 2.) I substituted 2 t. of 40% less sodium Taco seasoning for the spices, 3.) Used 1 can of lower sodium chicken broth, 4.) added a can of drained black olive slices (the little can) and 5.) Topped with shredded cheddar. VERY tasty! Will try again with beef chunks and another time with shredded chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
Excellent. I used left cooked pork roast, so I could skip the roasting of the cubed pork. It was really quick. Instead of chili powder and cayenne pepper I used 1 packet of Lawrey's Taco seasoning. I also used 4 large fresh diced tomato's instead of canned. Even my two little ones loved it and they do not care for most Mexican style food. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
Very good - used left over pork loin and took previous advise to use chicken broth. The broth is definately needed as the corn mixture becomes dense almost instantly when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This was fantastic. My family says it should be a staple meal of ours now! I slow-cooked my pork overnight (they were boneless pork chops), and I also used chicken broth like others recommended. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEYP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
My boyfriend is Mexican, and he absolutely loved this recipe. He ate almost half of it himself. The only thing different I did was added a little more garlic and chili powder. I served it with warm corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
It was OK the first day, I gave it 4 stars because it was better as leftovers. I might make it again if I had some leftover pork. I added extra chili powder, it would be better with black olives and cheese topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I was looking for a change from the usual chicken or beef and was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. My husband loved this as did our two boys. It tastes even better the second day. Being very busy, leftovers are my friend! I took the advice of Sunnyrutter and added extra egg, cornmeal and milk. Thank you Connie for submitting such a delicious casserole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States