Pork Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I made it and had to throw it away. Sadly, I admit that I might have done it wrong, but the flavor wasn't great and it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was good. Since I'm used to tamales where the corn mixture is separate from the meat mixture, I layered the pork and tomatoes first, and then topped it with the corn mixture (from which I omitted the tomatoes). Better would have been more varied spices in the pork and in the tomatoes as well. Be sure to bake it covered so it doesn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I made this for the first time today. It was okay, but the directions were a bit vague. How dry is too try (when told to add more broth if the cornmeal mixture gets too dry). What is the finished consistency supposed to be? We love pork and we love spicy so to that end it was good (and filling!). I served it with salsa and that helped moisten it up a bit. It was tasy and I will most likely make again on a cold, dreary day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was a great alternative to making actual tamales. I did reduce the amount of cayene pepper which helped it to not be too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I was a bit disappointed by this, but I fear I may have misunderstood the directions. It isn't clear how to use the broth. After you simmer the pork, do you remove it from the broth, or put the entire thing into the cornmeal mixture? I did, and it came out too wet. Next time, I'll only use the broth to wet the cornmeal if it becomes too dry, but otherwise will remove the pork from the simmering broth before adding to the cornmeal mixture. I should also say that I made this with chicken and chicken broth instead of cooking the pork, to both save time and effort. I'll try again, but not terribly impressed with the first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TODDINHB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I made the roast in the crock pot overnight. I used half a mexican beer (in place of the water) and added a pinch of cinnamon and a can of diced green chiles with the other spices. In the morning I shredded the pork and put it in the fridge for later. The casserole went together so fast that evening, I love that! Yum, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Pretty good. Probably would not make unless I had leftover pork roast from a previous meal. Not fantastic, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I added olives as suggested by some reviewers but I found it to be too strong and overpowered the mellow tamale taste. I dont think I'll add it into the tamale next time. I thought there was way too much pork so i will halve the amoutn of pork next time. The meat did come out very juicy and I was happy with that. I utilized the 18cm cristel pot to cook the meat and water in an oven until the meat was thoroughly cooked (I put the water in half way as the recipe stated). The amout of the water left over from the pork for the tamale mixture was not enough, so I needed to add 2 cups more water before adding the pork water. The texture came out fine since I listened to other reviewers but if I had followed the original directions then I think i would have a really dry dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Lil spicy but overall a very good recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This was really good. Very close in taste to a tamale. I slow cooked the pork roast in a crockpot until tender, and used the juice from that for the cornmeal mix. I do think I will make it without adding the corn next time. Possibly serve corn as a side as I don't think it is needed for this recipe. I also layered the recipe. Put the pork on the bottom and then poured the cornmeal mixture on top of it, topped with mexican cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States