Pork Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This was really good. Very close in taste to a tamale. I slow cooked the pork roast in a crockpot until tender, and used the juice from that for the cornmeal mix. I do think I will make it without adding the corn next time. Possibly serve corn as a side as I don't think it is needed for this recipe. I also layered the recipe. Put the pork on the bottom and then poured the cornmeal mixture on top of it, topped with mexican cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Hubby says this is definately "A Make Again" recipe! YUMmmmm! About the only changes I made was: 1.) Added an extra egg, 1/2 c. more cornmeal & 1/4 c. more milk. 2.) I substituted 2 t. of 40% less sodium Taco seasoning for the spices, 3.) Used 1 can of lower sodium chicken broth, 4.) added a can of drained black olive slices (the little can) and 5.) Topped with shredded cheddar. VERY tasty! Will try again with beef chunks and another time with shredded chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
I enjoyed this recipe but I wasn't clear on some directions. Do you drain the corn or not? I think next time I will drain corn and reduce amount to 1 can since the corn added a certain amount of sweetness that I didn't care for. I also increased amount of chilli since we like our food hot. I also topped with cheddar cheese and baked till cheese melted. Overall, good recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This was absolutely delicious! I had leftover pork roast so I didn't have the 2 cups of juice to simmer the pork in so I just used chicken broth. It turned out wonderfully but I would recommend cutting back on the cayenne pepper if you don't like things too spicy. I used diced tomatoes with jalepeno peppers since my family likes things really spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2000
You may want to cut back on the Cayenne and Chili Powder unless you are a huge fan. Cook the pork a day or two ahead or you'll be cooking all day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
My boyfriend is Mexican, and he absolutely loved this recipe. He ate almost half of it himself. The only thing different I did was added a little more garlic and chili powder. I served it with warm corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This recipe takes the cake. It's a foolproof, quick, and a tasty filling meal. But I did cheat a little on the meat by substituting sliced then fried Bratwurst. I also kicked the spices up a notch with some Taco seasoning, and Frank's Red Hot. Topped with some grated Cheedar & Mozzarella then a dollop of sour cream to chase the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
Excellent. I used left cooked pork roast, so I could skip the roasting of the cubed pork. It was really quick. Instead of chili powder and cayenne pepper I used 1 packet of Lawrey's Taco seasoning. I also used 4 large fresh diced tomato's instead of canned. Even my two little ones loved it and they do not care for most Mexican style food. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I really liked this recipe. It was easy enough to modify for my family. I wouldn't really say I changed it much. My pork was alredy previously roasted, I had to use frozen corn, and I plopped a little minced garlic in with the pork and chicken broth to simmer. Also used taco seasoning. I also added a small can of chopped green chilies when I mixed the pork and corn meal mixtues together. Also, I didn't use the juice from simmering the pork. I just put the pork in the mixture. Good recipe. my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I made the roast in the crock pot overnight. I used half a mexican beer (in place of the water) and added a pinch of cinnamon and a can of diced green chiles with the other spices. In the morning I shredded the pork and put it in the fridge for later. The casserole went together so fast that evening, I love that! Yum, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States