Pork Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I used leftover shredded pork from another recipe. We didn't care for this at all. Even though I covered the casserole as it baked, the end result was very dry. Unlike other reviewers, we did not find the leftovers to be better tasting, just drier. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I made it with shredded chicken and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This recipe takes the cake. It's a foolproof, quick, and a tasty filling meal. But I did cheat a little on the meat by substituting sliced then fried Bratwurst. I also kicked the spices up a notch with some Taco seasoning, and Frank's Red Hot. Topped with some grated Cheedar & Mozzarella then a dollop of sour cream to chase the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Quite a tasty dish and super easy to make. After slow cooking the pork roast a few days before and making bbq pork sandwiches for a left over lunch, I usually have just enough pork for one more meal. The pork tamale pie was yummy. Even my picky eater son enjoyed it. However, I did change a few things. I didn't have tomatoes, so I used a 15 oz can of pinto beans (drained) and added a can of 16 oz tomato sauce. I used minced garlic and paprika plus salt for taste. I added chopped black olives to the mixture and shredded cheese and remaining olives sprinkled on top before baking. I used taco sauce and sour cream as a side with jalepenos. Definately a make again meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I thought this had way too much pork for the amount of cornmeal in the recipe. Seems like I will be sticking with restaurant tamales as opposed to making this at home...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
This recipe was ok. Not having cooked with pork very often, I had no idea that this type of roast is very lean, which means very dry. I will definitely try it again, but will use a fattier roast. I also recommend adding liquid to the cornmeal mixture as the recipe says. I didn't add enough so in addition to the meat being dry, so was the cornmeal mixture. A previous contributor suggested adding a cheese. This is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I was looking for a change from the usual chicken or beef and was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. My husband loved this as did our two boys. It tastes even better the second day. Being very busy, leftovers are my friend! I took the advice of Sunnyrutter and added extra egg, cornmeal and milk. Thank you Connie for submitting such a delicious casserole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
It was OK the first day, I gave it 4 stars because it was better as leftovers. I might make it again if I had some leftover pork. I added extra chili powder, it would be better with black olives and cheese topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
My boyfriend is Mexican, and he absolutely loved this recipe. He ate almost half of it himself. The only thing different I did was added a little more garlic and chili powder. I served it with warm corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This was fantastic. My family says it should be a staple meal of ours now! I slow-cooked my pork overnight (they were boneless pork chops), and I also used chicken broth like others recommended. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEYP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States