Pork Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My family loved it. I changed it a bit because of what I had on hand. I had leftover Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos and used that to simmer in beef broth. I used a can of Rotel tomatoes because we like it spicier. I didn't have a can of corn, so I used frozen. Because the recipe didn't state to drain some of the canned goods; I didn't. That seemed to work out just fine. I also took the suggestion and layered the pie: meat, corn mixture, and then topped with shredded mexican cheese (because we love cheese). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTTERWELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very good and quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I LIVE ALONE SO I USED THE CALCULATOR FOR 2. UNLESS YOU ARE USE TO COOKING WITH CORN MEAL IT COULD BE A PROBLEM (NOT KNOWING WHAT TO LOOK FOR AS THE MEAL COOKS). IT CAME OUT GREAT! WE ALL ADD OUR OWN TOUCHES. BUT AS WITH ONE PERSONS IDEA I ADDED CHEESE TO THE TOP BEFORE BAKING. THANKS OF THE TIP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I'm in the process of making this dish right now. I am kind of frustrated though, with the cornmeal mixture. I don't know what consistency I'm supposed to be looking for as it cooks for 20 minutes on the stove top, and what constitutes "too dry?!" I see that some other reviewers had the same question(s) as me. I am hoping that I did not just ruin a whole lot of wonderful tasting left over pork by trying this recipe. I took another reviewers advice and added 1/2 C more cornmeal and 1/4 C extra milk and 1 extra egg to the cornmeal mixture. I've been tweaking the recipe as I go along here (adding salsa per another reviewers advice.) I'm just afraid to mix the pork with this weird cornmeal concoction, because I don't know what the cornmeal is going to do once I put this in the oven...not impressed so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sopranosong67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I really liked this recipe. It was easy enough to modify for my family. I wouldn't really say I changed it much. My pork was alredy previously roasted, I had to use frozen corn, and I plopped a little minced garlic in with the pork and chicken broth to simmer. Also used taco seasoning. I also added a small can of chopped green chilies when I mixed the pork and corn meal mixtues together. Also, I didn't use the juice from simmering the pork. I just put the pork in the mixture. Good recipe. my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Easy and tasty. Was a great way to use up some leftover pork from a roast. Since the pork wasn't cooked via this recipe, I added in some cumin, chopped jalapeno, garlic and other seasonings to make it more flavorful in the tamale realm. Topped it with cheese prior to baking for a crunchy topping. Served with rice and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgarlicky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eaglewing4031

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very good. I used leftover crockpot pork roast, and mixed ingredients into the leftover gravy. I also used salsa instead of the tomatoes- we like spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I hate to be a party pooper here but this recipe was one of the most awful concoctions I have ever..well, concocted! I did follow it exactly, and it turned out I suppose as it should...but honestly, it not only tasted awful it looked even worse. I had high hopes. Maybe just not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States