Pork Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This was ok. It scared me a bit at first...because of the mustard it didn't look like any stroganoff I have ever seen. But the mustard is a nice complement to the pork... it just needs to be decreased some, probably by half. I used a leftover cubed pork chop (had lots of spices & herbs on it), I mixed up the sauce using chicken broth instead of water & then I added the pork. I also used frozen minced onions for convenience (just quickly sauteed them for a couple of minutes before starting the sauce.) And I added just half a can of sliced buttons. Even though I was only using one chop, I did not decrease the sauce...I wanted enough to cover the egg noodles. It was pretty mustardy so I added about a 1/2 cup of chicken broth & then a pat of butter to help meld everything together. Like I said, this was OK for lunch & I might make it again w/ leftover pork but I'll probably just try out a new recipe instead...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
My husband and I both agreed that, while this was good, it wasn't a recipe that we'd run out and buy pork chops for! My take on this one is that it's a great recipe for using up leftover pork roast. I prepared the sauce as directed, shredded the cooked pork into the simmering sauce and mixed the whole thing together with about 8 oz cooked wide egg noodles for a really good dish. My only complaint was that the whole thing didn't seem to have quite enough sauce for the amount of meat and vegetables. I did add 1/4 cup extra water, but hesitated to add more sour cream (health concerns). Definitely a good basic recipe though. Thanks Rhoda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
We absolutely loved this recipe! It is definitely one of those "feel good meals". I did cut up a small pork roast and used that. I used a little extra onion/garlic powder and sherry pepper to "spice" things up a bit. DH said he like it much better than "beef" stroganoff. So in my opinion that is an excellent recommendation. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
The sauce was pretty bland and did not taste like stroganoff to me. We ended up with pork chops that were actually thicker than the recipe called for, and they still dried out at that cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
We substituted chicken breast for pork. We actually liked it better than regular beef stroganoff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Cut pork tenderloin into thin strips and sauteed in olive oil. I used frozen diced onions as well as a frozen exotic mushroom blend from Trader Joe's. Instead of using prepared mustard, I used ground dry mustard and dried thyme. Also added fresh ground black pepper. Served over egg noodles. Very quick to prepare, still a little bit bland but that may be because I didn't use the regular mustard. Comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
We liked this a lot. I added minced garlic & a cube of beef bouillon to the sauce. I also cubed the chops & doubled the sauce and left the meat in the sauce instead of removing it while I made the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
It was absolutely amazing! I didn't think it would be THAT good...but it turned out to be super duper tasty. My wife and I devoured it all and couldn't stop talking about how good it was. This is definetely not the last time I make this one. Awesome. I've made this dish many times now and I've learned that the cooking time of 1 hour is a bit much. I usually cook it about 30 minutes and it's fine. I sometimes do the hour but only on VERY low heat or else it gets too dry. Plus I put 2 cups of Sour cream instead of 1/2 a cup. It just seems better that way. 1/2 a cup just didn't cut it. Also lately I've been cutting the pork into cubes and mixing it all up and then pouring it over egg noodles. I like it better that way instead of the big pork chops. Both ways are good though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
All I can say is fabulous! I'm on a low carb diet, and found this recipe. I've made it twice in the past month because it's so good. I'll NEVER go back to beef stroganoff again! The beef is always too tough, and you have to cut it up, etc. I cut the pork cutlets in half and cooked it up and it's now one of my favorite ways to eat pork!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Didn't like the mustard in this recipe, it domiated the flavor. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States