Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
As recipe was written except I used 2 cups chicken broth. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedaredge, Colorado, USA
Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
wonderful! simmered on low for two hours pork was so tender!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This goes to 11! Good Lord Almighty! This is the best thing I've ever made...seriously (at least my family said so, anyway, even over my beef stroganoff). I've had this at various Tex-Mex restaurants and they do not even come remotely close. I made only a few tiny changes out of necessity. I used chicken broth instead of water at the cook's suggestion. I only had one teaspoon of marjoram left to use, so I threw in a teaspoon of Mexican oregano. It was taking so long to tenderize the pork so I added a another 1/3 cup or so of chicken stock to keep it from completely drying out. It kept reducing even more and still not tender enough (yes, this was even on low heat). I then added about 1/2 cup of dry white wine. Took at least 1 hr 15 mins if not an hour and a half to cook the pork down to fork tenderness. The wine added acidity to an already wonderfully rich dish. I served this over white rice. This is going straight to the front of the Mexican/Tex-Mex recipes in my personal cookbook. Amen to you PLATO! You rock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mcloud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
We love this recipe! I have developed a Boston Butt roast (pork shoulder) ritual. I bake or boil the roast on day 1 and serve with potatoes/carrots/onions. Day 2 I use the leftovers to make this fabulous recipe. Day 3 I use THOSE leftovers to fill burritos. Yummy X3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Buchanan Calkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
From LA, Ca and Mexican food is my comfort food. My sister and husband were blown away. Delicious and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
BF and I really enjoyed this. I had some leftover pork chops that I needed to use up. They were already breaded so I just seasoned them with the cumin and warmed them in the dutch oven. While the pork was browning I cut up fresh green chilies and used these instead of the canned. After the pork was warmed up, I removed it from the pan and added a little more olive oil then tossed in the jalapenos, fresh green chilies, and onion all at once - sauteed until everything was tender, then added the chopped tomatillos, garlic, cilantro, marjoram and extra cumin. I also used broth instead of water and added an extra 1/2 cup because I wanted more of a soup texture. There are some wonderful flavors layered on top of each other in here and I will make this one again. I ate mine with a dollop of sour cream and some fresh cilantro for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I've made this recipe several times. It's so savory and rich. I just recently substituted lamb for the pork. Fabulous! I'm going to try it with chicken next. Will have to try substituting chicken broth for the water. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I will let the other reviewers pen the technical reasons why this recipe is great tasting. When I would eat at mexican restaurants I would only order meals with chile verde as the protein. No longer! This meal is great and I can make it at home any time I want! Great stuff. I just quadruple the jalapenos for a wee bit mire heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Delicious! Don't cut back on the chiles~ could add more. I salted the vegees also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States