Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Yum! Huge hit with everyone even my 4 year old. I did use chicken stock instead of water. And I cut the tomatillos in half and put them in the food processor along with half of the cooked onion. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay B
Living In: Alliance, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
My husband loved this! He said that it could easily pass for a dish at our favorite Mexican restaurant. I followed the recipe exactly, except I let the whole dish simmer in the crock pot on low for about 5 hours. The flavors combined perfectly and the meat was so tender it just melted! I served with mexican rice and warm tortillas for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I needed a Mexican recipe I'd never made before for my weekend challenge, and this one caught my eye. I had almost everything on hand, but tomatillos aren't available here at the best of times, definitely not winter. I substituted a jar of tomatillo salsa, a small can of diced tomatoes, and reduced the water to half a cup to replace the fresh tomatillos. I served it on a bed of rice. It both smelled and tasted great. It might have been my weekend challenge, but this is one we'll be doing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Wow...I have never written a review for a recipe but I have to with this one. The flavors were wonderful so was the aroma. I can't wait to have the leftovers. Even my picky eaters gobbled it up. My husband has requested to add this to our monthly menu. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
The flavor was pretty good but the texture was unappealing! the breading feel off of the pork and left the soup looking like oatmeal. It looked so bad that we could barley eat it. We think it would be ok without the breading tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
My husband is Mexican as well and he loved this! I made this much more soupy by adding equal portions of water and chicken broth, I also added hominy and served with tostadas. So good, thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Great recipe! Wanted to use for burrito filling so did not add water but did add chopped fresh pablanos and anahiems. Placed all in crock pot after browning pork and let cook for a couple of hours. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana Maggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Outstanding! Served for family including a picky daughter who went back for seconds on her own! I did replace canned chiles with fresh Anahiem peppers. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is a delicious & forgiving recipe. Flavor gets better overnight so it's easy to make a day ahead. Sometimes I have used fresh tomatillos when in season but in the winter I substitute pureed tomatillos & the seasonings that I froze from when they were ripe. A go to favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States