Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This so very very good! Highly recommend! One day, I had used chicken broth in place of water, and put some habanero peppers in there for a little while and took them out after about 5 min. It was sooooo good and had a little bit of kick in the end taste. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrow, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I have been making this dish for years and thought I had the best recipe out there. I made this recipe tonight to see what it was about. I have to say it beats mine hands down and is pretty well spot on to the recipe my favorite local Hispanic joint makes. I didn't change a thing and it turned out superb! It was fantastic as a taco as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smurfe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Yum! Huge hit with everyone even my 4 year old. I did use chicken stock instead of water. And I cut the tomatillos in half and put them in the food processor along with half of the cooked onion. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay B
Living In: Alliance, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
My husband loved this! He said that it could easily pass for a dish at our favorite Mexican restaurant. I followed the recipe exactly, except I let the whole dish simmer in the crock pot on low for about 5 hours. The flavors combined perfectly and the meat was so tender it just melted! I served with mexican rice and warm tortillas for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I needed a Mexican recipe I'd never made before for my weekend challenge, and this one caught my eye. I had almost everything on hand, but tomatillos aren't available here at the best of times, definitely not winter. I substituted a jar of tomatillo salsa, a small can of diced tomatoes, and reduced the water to half a cup to replace the fresh tomatillos. I served it on a bed of rice. It both smelled and tasted great. It might have been my weekend challenge, but this is one we'll be doing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Wow...I have never written a review for a recipe but I have to with this one. The flavors were wonderful so was the aroma. I can't wait to have the leftovers. Even my picky eaters gobbled it up. My husband has requested to add this to our monthly menu. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
The flavor was pretty good but the texture was unappealing! the breading feel off of the pork and left the soup looking like oatmeal. It looked so bad that we could barley eat it. We think it would be ok without the breading tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
My husband is Mexican as well and he loved this! I made this much more soupy by adding equal portions of water and chicken broth, I also added hominy and served with tostadas. So good, thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Great recipe! Wanted to use for burrito filling so did not add water but did add chopped fresh pablanos and anahiems. Placed all in crock pot after browning pork and let cook for a couple of hours. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana Maggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States