Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
My husband loved this! He said that it could easily pass for a dish at our favorite Mexican restaurant. I followed the recipe exactly, except I let the whole dish simmer in the crock pot on low for about 5 hours. The flavors combined perfectly and the meat was so tender it just melted! I served with mexican rice and warm tortillas for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I needed a Mexican recipe I'd never made before for my weekend challenge, and this one caught my eye. I had almost everything on hand, but tomatillos aren't available here at the best of times, definitely not winter. I substituted a jar of tomatillo salsa, a small can of diced tomatoes, and reduced the water to half a cup to replace the fresh tomatillos. I served it on a bed of rice. It both smelled and tasted great. It might have been my weekend challenge, but this is one we'll be doing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Wow...I have never written a review for a recipe but I have to with this one. The flavors were wonderful so was the aroma. I can't wait to have the leftovers. Even my picky eaters gobbled it up. My husband has requested to add this to our monthly menu. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
The flavor was pretty good but the texture was unappealing! the breading feel off of the pork and left the soup looking like oatmeal. It looked so bad that we could barley eat it. We think it would be ok without the breading tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
My husband is Mexican as well and he loved this! I made this much more soupy by adding equal portions of water and chicken broth, I also added hominy and served with tostadas. So good, thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Great recipe! Wanted to use for burrito filling so did not add water but did add chopped fresh pablanos and anahiems. Placed all in crock pot after browning pork and let cook for a couple of hours. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana Maggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Outstanding! Served for family including a picky daughter who went back for seconds on her own! I did replace canned chiles with fresh Anahiem peppers. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is a delicious & forgiving recipe. Flavor gets better overnight so it's easy to make a day ahead. Sometimes I have used fresh tomatillos when in season but in the winter I substitute pureed tomatillos & the seasonings that I froze from when they were ripe. A go to favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Fantastic! The only change I made was to add an extra cup of water in the beginning. I let this simmer for about 2 hours and served it over white rice. Will defiantly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was phenomenal. Took a risk and served it for company the first time I made it. It was a big hit! I did add diced potatoes as I had seen that in another green chile stew recipe and I think it may have cut the heat just a little. Certainly not necessary though. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States