Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is a great recipe. The texture & flavors were really nice. I baked mine in the oven for about 1 1/2 hours instead of on the stove. Everyone raved over the tenderness of the pork & how flavorful the whole dish was! A winner all around. I served it with fajita style veggies & Spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskatie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valley Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is really great. I only used 1 jalepeno instead of 2, and I thought that was perfect. Other than that, I followed everything exactly. Very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
WooHoo but this one was a winner! It's like most stews that you can "add a little, subtract a little" and find a balance that suits you/your family. We like things fairly spicy so added some cayenne (to taste). Also threw in a diced potato and will try a can of hominy next time.......and there WILL be a next time. Perfect for a cold winter day. Thanx Plato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
excellent. definately make again. used our home grown tomitillios
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Great recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is awesome! Had no marjoram so substituted with Mexican oregano. Used chicken stock in place of water; otherwise followed exactly. Served over brown rice. It's amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly, other than adding about 1/2 cup more water, as when I added the first cup it wasn't covering everything so I was worried the pork would dry out. Also, I simmered mine for closer to 2 hours, just because of the timing of when we would be serving it, and the meat just melted in our mouths. My husband LOVED this recipe as well, and I will definitely be making this again and again! Thanks for the amazing recipe! My husband asked me to double it next time as there weren't enough leftovers for his liking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Delicious! Great way to use fresh tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I made this for 4, it was great.the first time I cooked w/tomatillos. I uses 2 tomatoes and 4 tomatillos.i put chili powder instead of the green chillies & jalapeño. My dad is a little shy on spices. I never have used the 2 items. This dish was great!! Thick and juicy stew. The pork melted in my mouth. I used the last end of a whole pork loin, the end w/darker meat. Love that part. I hated pork growing up, (that shoe leather stuff.) I can't wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States