Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
We love this recipe! I have developed a Boston Butt roast (pork shoulder) ritual. I bake or boil the roast on day 1 and serve with potatoes/carrots/onions. Day 2 I use the leftovers to make this fabulous recipe. Day 3 I use THOSE leftovers to fill burritos. Yummy X3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Buchanan Calkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
From LA, Ca and Mexican food is my comfort food. My sister and husband were blown away. Delicious and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
BF and I really enjoyed this. I had some leftover pork chops that I needed to use up. They were already breaded so I just seasoned them with the cumin and warmed them in the dutch oven. While the pork was browning I cut up fresh green chilies and used these instead of the canned. After the pork was warmed up, I removed it from the pan and added a little more olive oil then tossed in the jalapenos, fresh green chilies, and onion all at once - sauteed until everything was tender, then added the chopped tomatillos, garlic, cilantro, marjoram and extra cumin. I also used broth instead of water and added an extra 1/2 cup because I wanted more of a soup texture. There are some wonderful flavors layered on top of each other in here and I will make this one again. I ate mine with a dollop of sour cream and some fresh cilantro for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I've made this recipe several times. It's so savory and rich. I just recently substituted lamb for the pork. Fabulous! I'm going to try it with chicken next. Will have to try substituting chicken broth for the water. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I will let the other reviewers pen the technical reasons why this recipe is great tasting. When I would eat at mexican restaurants I would only order meals with chile verde as the protein. No longer! This meal is great and I can make it at home any time I want! Great stuff. I just quadruple the jalapenos for a wee bit mire heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Delicious! Don't cut back on the chiles~ could add more. I salted the vegees also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Cooked many times, rock solid recipe. Often use a lot more tomatillo's, just cut in half. They mush down a lot. Careful not to burn the bottom! Forgot cilantro many times... Still great. White rice, sour cream, tortilla chips. Epic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Greene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
My family really likes this soup; I added a can of White beans in it. My wife asked that I make extra for smothered breakfast burritos the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Husband said it was the best "chili verde" he has ever had! I followed the recipe exactly, but used Oregano 1: 2 ratio as a substitute for marjoram since I didn't have Marjoram on hand. I didn't feel like simmering it on the stovetop, so I threw everything into a crockpot and then went horseback riding and both my husband and I came home to a delicious meal. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Swanson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States