Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Husband said it was the best "chili verde" he has ever had! I followed the recipe exactly, but used Oregano 1: 2 ratio as a substitute for marjoram since I didn't have Marjoram on hand. I didn't feel like simmering it on the stovetop, so I threw everything into a crockpot and then went horseback riding and both my husband and I came home to a delicious meal. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I thought is was a great base, I made this according to the recipe exactly. Next time I will be adding some lime juice and tequila to brighten the flavors and some more jalapeno for heat. It was just a bit bland but all in all it was really yummy. Thanks so much this is one of my husbands favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Fabulous recipe, I cooked it so many times now my family loves it, even my 6 year old grandson. Last time I made it I used boneless chicken breasts. It was delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
WOW! was really amazed how EZ this was to make and was very delicious if Plato has any other recipes upload them dude. Great job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Wow! So good. I get salsa verde guisado when I eat in Mexican restaurants. I've been wanting to make it at home, this recipe tastes exactly like the ones I get at restaurants. I am very impressed. Prep work takes the longest in this recipe. I tried chopping up the onion, etc in a chopper.... Didn't work. Had to chop everything by hand so it took forever. I like this dish a little spicier than two jalapeños so I added whole seeded jalapeños. Serve with warm tortillas and sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I have never had luck flouring my meat before frying, I find it just sticks to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This was totally awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewisburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
this was fantastic. it was a little too hot because I used fresh Hatch chilies instead of canned so I added some new potatoes. i will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
My husband is *very* picky about his pork green chili. He loved this! I did use pork chops (all I had) and green tomatoes (again...all I had) and cooked it in a pressure cooker. Amazing with fresh tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
It was delicious and authentic Santa Fe style! We subbed a few things as per other reviews, and added a drained and rinsed can of posole (hominy beans). It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States