Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made this dish this weekend for a mexican family new years eve dinner. We had leftover pork shoulder from a previous meal and was so glad to find this stew recipe. I followed the recipe to the tee and it was GREAT as is.. would not change a thing!!! I served this with some mexican fried rice, beans and warm tortillas. Everyone at the table went for seconds! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joe
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was great. I had never really had anything like it before. It was more work than the types of things I normally cook, but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
this is incredible!! just delicious and my Mexican son-in-law thought I only could cook Irish and Italian! thanks Mr. Plato!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
What an awesome dish! Definetly going to be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made this for my girlfriend last night and she loved it but next time we do this, we are going to try adding an extra can of green chiles to the recipes for extra bite and absolutely add jalapeno. As toppers if putting on tortillas: Diced Tomato Diced Green Onion Shredded Monterrey Jack Cheese Steamed Rice Sour Cream Lime Wedges to squeeze on finished product
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Wonderful and easy, I can't believe how good this was. Too much pepper, though, I think 1 tsp would be fine. Making enchiladas with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Yum! I used 2lbs of pork instead of 3, chicken broth instead of water, and oregano instead of marjoram, since that's what I had on hand, didn't change the rest of the amounts called for, and the recipe came out a tiny bit tart, but the supporting flavors were perfect. The tartness is due to the tomatillos I'm sure, which I'm not used to cooking with. Still, so delicious! I will definitely make this again. I used 2 tsp cumin, and since I had a 4oz can of diced green chiles, I left a little bit of seeds in when I diced up the jalapenos. I served this on top of rice, with tortillas on the side and our leftovers will be burritos. So good! Thank you for a wonderful recipe. **Update: I made this with 2 cans of diced tomatoes, drained (instead of tomatillos) and it was delicious! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Could not be better. Thanks for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Yummmmo!! This was awesome! I made it exactly as instructed and it turned out amazing. Used the meat mixture for burro filling, then used the sauce to put over the top, with some shredded cheese and baked it just long enough to melt the cheese. mmmmm . . . good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Delicious, with wonderfully complex but balanced flavors. All the ingredients and seasonings come together and mellow into something uniquely its own. I loved the ingredients that went into this stew, loved making it, and Hubs and I certainly loved eating it! As all cooks should do, I seasoned this "to taste," upping the cumin to probably a couple of teaspoons, substituting Mexican oregano for the marjoram (have never used it!), backing off on the pepper to probably a teaspoon (you can always add it but you can't take it back out!) and subbing two, fresh poblano peppers for the canned green chilies - first, because I love 'em and second, because they're easier on Hubs' sensitive innards. Wanting to make sure the meat was good and tender, I simmered this for a good hour and a half - and it WAS buttery tender. This is intensely aromatic as it cooks, letting you know that what you're in for will be well worth the wait! I served this over plain white rice, with a dollop of sour cream, but I could easily see this wrapped in a tortilla too (that will be coming up with the leftovers!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States