Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is great just as it is! ( 2cups of tomatillos is 2 lbs. fresh) A whole lot of "testing" done by family as it cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe!! I followed the recipe except for the cumin...I added 2 tsp, and the diced green chilis...I used 2 seven oz. cans. I also used 3 chopped serranos instead of the Jalapenos. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe. It turned out amazingly well. Stir it quite often while simmering or it will stick to the bottom of your pot. Thanks for posting Plato. We will enjoy this stew over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
good stuff, served over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
What a great recipe! I've made this several times and love it. One tip - I find that it tastes even better the day after it's made. When I make it for guests, I make it the day beforehand which not only makes it taste better, but also makes the day of entertaining much easier. I serve it with cilantro rice and tortillas. This is definitely a keeper recipe.... Thanks so much for submitting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made this dish this weekend for a mexican family new years eve dinner. We had leftover pork shoulder from a previous meal and was so glad to find this stew recipe. I followed the recipe to the tee and it was GREAT as is.. would not change a thing!!! I served this with some mexican fried rice, beans and warm tortillas. Everyone at the table went for seconds! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joe
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was great. I had never really had anything like it before. It was more work than the types of things I normally cook, but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
this is incredible!! just delicious and my Mexican son-in-law thought I only could cook Irish and Italian! thanks Mr. Plato!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
What an awesome dish! Definetly going to be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made this for my girlfriend last night and she loved it but next time we do this, we are going to try adding an extra can of green chiles to the recipes for extra bite and absolutely add jalapeno. As toppers if putting on tortillas: Diced Tomato Diced Green Onion Shredded Monterrey Jack Cheese Steamed Rice Sour Cream Lime Wedges to squeeze on finished product
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Wonderful and easy, I can't believe how good this was. Too much pepper, though, I think 1 tsp would be fine. Making enchiladas with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States