Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was a fantastic dish! Served with tortillas and usual "fajita" sides and made the spanish rice from this site and a side of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was a great recipe. The family loved it and is already asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Fey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
DE. LI. CIOUS. That is all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This chili verde was just ok. I followed the recipe pretty closely but was just not blown away. My husband is mexican and he wasn't that impressed with this either. I will make this again but will use another recipe I found. Next time I make this I will roast the tomatillos and garlic and then blend it along with the cilantro. We like our food spicy and this wasn't spicy enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I love this recipe! I omitted the salt because I cook low-sodium. It was a little too hot for me, so I will probably reduce the pepper next time. I will definitely make this again. Thanks! Update: I have made this many times and truly love it. If I can't get low sodium pork at the store, I make this with chicken. Not sure it's authentic Mexican that way, but it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Needs much more salt than the recipe calls for, but is great! I didn't find this to be a very effortful recipe; the worst part was trimming all the fat of the pork. I used this as my entry at a workplace Mexican-themed cook off, and it took first for taste, even without garnishes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kxo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is great just as it is! ( 2cups of tomatillos is 2 lbs. fresh) A whole lot of "testing" done by family as it cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe!! I followed the recipe except for the cumin...I added 2 tsp, and the diced green chilis...I used 2 seven oz. cans. I also used 3 chopped serranos instead of the Jalapenos. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe. It turned out amazingly well. Stir it quite often while simmering or it will stick to the bottom of your pot. Thanks for posting Plato. We will enjoy this stew over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
good stuff, served over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
What a great recipe! I've made this several times and love it. One tip - I find that it tastes even better the day after it's made. When I make it for guests, I make it the day beforehand which not only makes it taste better, but also makes the day of entertaining much easier. I serve it with cilantro rice and tortillas. This is definitely a keeper recipe.... Thanks so much for submitting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States