Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Mmmm - I've tried three recipes from this site for chile verde & this one is now my fave! For the most part used ingredients as directed except started with pork that had already been smoked, subbed 2 fresh roasted poblano's instead of the canned green chiles, mexican oregano for the marjoram & chicken broth for the water...super simple, easy to put together & just darn good chile verde!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly as written and it is at least a five-star recipe. My wife said it was restaurant quality. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I did it exactly like recipe calls, and it came out sooo authentically good. My husband loved it. I will make it again and maybe add cut up potatoes, and extra salsa. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari428

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This was amazing, and even better the next day. My only note would be that I doubled the liquid (used pork stock instead of water), and it was still really thick. **UPDATE** I used this same recipe to make enchilada sauce (Left out the pork/flour, doubled liquid, put the whole thing through the blender once it was done simmering). Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This so very very good! Highly recommend! One day, I had used chicken broth in place of water, and put some habanero peppers in there for a little while and took them out after about 5 min. It was sooooo good and had a little bit of kick in the end taste. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrow, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I have been making this dish for years and thought I had the best recipe out there. I made this recipe tonight to see what it was about. I have to say it beats mine hands down and is pretty well spot on to the recipe my favorite local Hispanic joint makes. I didn't change a thing and it turned out superb! It was fantastic as a taco as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smurfe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Yum! Huge hit with everyone even my 4 year old. I did use chicken stock instead of water. And I cut the tomatillos in half and put them in the food processor along with half of the cooked onion. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay B
Living In: Alliance, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
My husband loved this! He said that it could easily pass for a dish at our favorite Mexican restaurant. I followed the recipe exactly, except I let the whole dish simmer in the crock pot on low for about 5 hours. The flavors combined perfectly and the meat was so tender it just melted! I served with mexican rice and warm tortillas for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I needed a Mexican recipe I'd never made before for my weekend challenge, and this one caught my eye. I had almost everything on hand, but tomatillos aren't available here at the best of times, definitely not winter. I substituted a jar of tomatillo salsa, a small can of diced tomatoes, and reduced the water to half a cup to replace the fresh tomatillos. I served it on a bed of rice. It both smelled and tasted great. It might have been my weekend challenge, but this is one we'll be doing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States