Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
excellent. definately make again. used our home grown tomitillios
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Great recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is awesome! Had no marjoram so substituted with Mexican oregano. Used chicken stock in place of water; otherwise followed exactly. Served over brown rice. It's amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Smail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly, other than adding about 1/2 cup more water, as when I added the first cup it wasn't covering everything so I was worried the pork would dry out. Also, I simmered mine for closer to 2 hours, just because of the timing of when we would be serving it, and the meat just melted in our mouths. My husband LOVED this recipe as well, and I will definitely be making this again and again! Thanks for the amazing recipe! My husband asked me to double it next time as there weren't enough leftovers for his liking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Delicious! Great way to use fresh tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I made this for 4, it was great.the first time I cooked w/tomatillos. I uses 2 tomatoes and 4 tomatillos.i put chili powder instead of the green chillies & jalapeño. My dad is a little shy on spices. I never have used the 2 items. This dish was great!! Thick and juicy stew. The pork melted in my mouth. I used the last end of a whole pork loin, the end w/darker meat. Love that part. I hated pork growing up, (that shoe leather stuff.) I can't wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This stew was a winner at my house! My husband smoked a pork shoulder and I needed something to do with the leftovers. I didn't have any tomatillos on hand so I doubled the chiles and used a few green tomatoes and just added the spices straight to the pot. It was excellent and I can't wait to make it totally to the recipe. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Mmmm - I've tried three recipes from this site for chile verde & this one is now my fave! For the most part used ingredients as directed except started with pork that had already been smoked, subbed 2 fresh roasted poblano's instead of the canned green chiles, mexican oregano for the marjoram & chicken broth for the water...super simple, easy to put together & just darn good chile verde!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly as written and it is at least a five-star recipe. My wife said it was restaurant quality. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States