Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
It is still simmering but love it already. Have to walk away to stop sampling. Made some subs based on what I had. First, I used leftover pork that had been rubbed and slow cooked. Didn't have fresh tomatillos so used store bought sauce. Same with Jalpaenos - used Salsa Verde. Upped all the spices a bit. Will definitely add it to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I made this on a cold snowy day, it made the house smell so good and hit the spot. This is definetly in my box to stay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is a great recipe. The texture & flavors were really nice. I baked mine in the oven for about 1 1/2 hours instead of on the stove. Everyone raved over the tenderness of the pork & how flavorful the whole dish was! A winner all around. I served it with fajita style veggies & Spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskatie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valley Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is really great. I only used 1 jalepeno instead of 2, and I thought that was perfect. Other than that, I followed everything exactly. Very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
WooHoo but this one was a winner! It's like most stews that you can "add a little, subtract a little" and find a balance that suits you/your family. We like things fairly spicy so added some cayenne (to taste). Also threw in a diced potato and will try a can of hominy next time.......and there WILL be a next time. Perfect for a cold winter day. Thanx Plato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
excellent. definately make again. used our home grown tomitillios
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Great recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is awesome! Had no marjoram so substituted with Mexican oregano. Used chicken stock in place of water; otherwise followed exactly. Served over brown rice. It's amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly, other than adding about 1/2 cup more water, as when I added the first cup it wasn't covering everything so I was worried the pork would dry out. Also, I simmered mine for closer to 2 hours, just because of the timing of when we would be serving it, and the meat just melted in our mouths. My husband LOVED this recipe as well, and I will definitely be making this again and again! Thanks for the amazing recipe! My husband asked me to double it next time as there weren't enough leftovers for his liking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States