Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I Made this last night and it was good last night I'd say a 4 1/2 star, Then we got it out today and made enchiladas out of it... 5 stars! It was so GOOD!Fabulous! Letting the flavors infuse overnight really made the difference between 4 and 5 star. I did make some changes that I do recommend. The first thing to change is not to use canned chilies. Instead Use 3 to 4 freshly roasted and peeled Anaheim chili peppers(mild ones), I also added 1 extra clove garlic that was roasted. I think this change will make your recipe worth making this. I also used Serrano peppers instead of Jalapenos, because I personally like their flavor better, but that probably doesn't matter too much. also added an extra 1/2 tsp. seasoned salt to the flour mixture. I doubled the bouillon and water, because I wanted more sauce for enchiladas. I made sure to add all the extra flour from dredging the meat to the pot before cooking it all together, so the extra sauce was still sauce and not soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Jensen
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this dish. One big change I made out of necessity- I had to use salsa verde in lieu of tomatillos. Since the salsa verde already had jalapenos, it was a pretty good sub. I also added oregano, and used chicken broth instead of water. Also, if you are using fresh cilantro, add it towards the end of cooking, it allows for a brighter cilantro taste. It's a good rule of culinary thumb to add dry spices at the beginning, and fresh at the end. I really suggest you eat this dish on top of cilantro lime rice, or with tortillas. Also it really does age well, so you can make this dish a day before, and let it sit in the fridge, lets the flavors mellow and really mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
One of our favorites--a bit of work to make, but soooo worth it. Have served to many different friends & always gets rave reviews. Great left over, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
It is still simmering but love it already. Have to walk away to stop sampling. Made some subs based on what I had. First, I used leftover pork that had been rubbed and slow cooked. Didn't have fresh tomatillos so used store bought sauce. Same with Jalpaenos - used Salsa Verde. Upped all the spices a bit. Will definitely add it to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I made this on a cold snowy day, it made the house smell so good and hit the spot. This is definetly in my box to stay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is a great recipe. The texture & flavors were really nice. I baked mine in the oven for about 1 1/2 hours instead of on the stove. Everyone raved over the tenderness of the pork & how flavorful the whole dish was! A winner all around. I served it with fajita style veggies & Spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskatie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valley Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is really great. I only used 1 jalepeno instead of 2, and I thought that was perfect. Other than that, I followed everything exactly. Very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
WooHoo but this one was a winner! It's like most stews that you can "add a little, subtract a little" and find a balance that suits you/your family. We like things fairly spicy so added some cayenne (to taste). Also threw in a diced potato and will try a can of hominy next time.......and there WILL be a next time. Perfect for a cold winter day. Thanx Plato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
excellent. definately make again. used our home grown tomitillios
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Great recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States