Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
It was delicious and authentic Santa Fe style! We subbed a few things as per other reviews, and added a drained and rinsed can of posole (hominy beans). It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Seriously delicious. I had a lot of leftover country ribs that my husband had grilled, and I wanted to do something creative with them vs just reheating, so I tried this recipe. The ribs had been seasoned with a dry rub before grilling, so I scaled back on the salt in this recipe. The time spent simmering tenderized the ribs very well. The broth was thinner than what I think of when I think of "stew," but it was very fresh-tasting due to the cilantro and tomatillos, so it would be good in the summer as well as a cold-weather comfort food. I'd never had a pork stew before, and this is my go-to whenever we have leftover pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Delicious and easy to make, too. Our local grocery store usually doesn't stock tomatillos, so this recipe required a special trip to the Mexican grocery--the stew is tasty enough that it's worth going out of your way for. Best of all, it gets better when you reheat it and it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Oh yeah! My son-in-law is latino and he raved over this dish as did everyone else in the family, including my 2 year old granddaughter who ate a whole bowl of it. Only changes I made were to use a can of tomatillos instead of the fresh ones and to add a cube of chicken bouillon at the end of the cooking time. This is now elevated to a family favoriate and will be served regularly at family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Really enjoyed this delicious recipe! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This is absolutely delicious! I have made it twice and both times substituted chicken stock for the water as someone previously suggested. I also served it with chopped red onion in addition to the sour cream and cilantro. I used my grandmothers cast iron Dutch oven which worked nicely. Highly recommend this recipe. Easy to make as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I Made this last night and it was good last night I'd say a 4 1/2 star, Then we got it out today and made enchiladas out of it... 5 stars! It was so GOOD!Fabulous! Letting the flavors infuse overnight really made the difference between 4 and 5 star. I did make some changes that I do recommend. The first thing to change is not to use canned chilies. Instead Use 3 to 4 freshly roasted and peeled Anaheim chili peppers(mild ones), I also added 1 extra clove garlic that was roasted. I think this change will make your recipe worth making this. I also used Serrano peppers instead of Jalapenos, because I personally like their flavor better, but that probably doesn't matter too much. also added an extra 1/2 tsp. seasoned salt to the flour mixture. I doubled the bouillon and water, because I wanted more sauce for enchiladas. I made sure to add all the extra flour from dredging the meat to the pot before cooking it all together, so the extra sauce was still sauce and not soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Jensen
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this dish. One big change I made out of necessity- I had to use salsa verde in lieu of tomatillos. Since the salsa verde already had jalapenos, it was a pretty good sub. I also added oregano, and used chicken broth instead of water. Also, if you are using fresh cilantro, add it towards the end of cooking, it allows for a brighter cilantro taste. It's a good rule of culinary thumb to add dry spices at the beginning, and fresh at the end. I really suggest you eat this dish on top of cilantro lime rice, or with tortillas. Also it really does age well, so you can make this dish a day before, and let it sit in the fridge, lets the flavors mellow and really mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
One of our favorites--a bit of work to make, but soooo worth it. Have served to many different friends & always gets rave reviews. Great left over, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
It is still simmering but love it already. Have to walk away to stop sampling. Made some subs based on what I had. First, I used leftover pork that had been rubbed and slow cooked. Didn't have fresh tomatillos so used store bought sauce. Same with Jalpaenos - used Salsa Verde. Upped all the spices a bit. Will definitely add it to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States