Pork Sinigang Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Amazing! Loved how the soup was salty and tangy! I think this is even better than the sinigang I had at a restaurant! The only changes I made was that I added baby bok choy instead of green beans and instead of using fresh chopped ginger I used 1/2 tsp store-bought chopped ginger. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Good flavor but added a little fish sauce to reduce the sour taste and added okra, finger peppers & bokchoy. Eggplants are good to add but it was $11 so I didn't buy it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lianx3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I prefer using pork riblets(pork spareribs cut into bite sized pieces) rather than whole pork chops. Also we add Daikon radish sliced into 2" - 4" pieces. One reviewer says she can't get the Tamarind Seasoning mix easily in her town. Mama Sita's Tamarind Seasoning Mix (1.76 oz.) is available online from several vendors for not too much money. Does anyone keep their Tamarind Seasoning Mix in the freezer? If so, why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
The way my grandmother taught me to cook sinigang is to never use ginger for the meat version of this dish, only for fish or shrimp. Also, using pork chop lends to the meat getting a bit too tough. Better to use neck bone or pork belly with some rib meat. The latter tends to be a bit fatty, but that's part of the dish's character. Lastly, you can opt not to cook the onion and meat in oil, just put the meat, onion, tomatoes, salt, and water in the pot until the meat starts getting tender. Then add the gabi (taro). Put in a hot pepper or two when the taro starts to soften. By the time the meat is cooked, the taro should be almost done, too, so no need to take them out. This is the time to add the tamarind soup mix. If added too early, the meat absorbs it, and the broth ends up not being too tangy, and the meat ending up tangy (for fish and especially shrimp, the soup base is added EARLIER). Add the green long beans; you can also add water spinach (you can get these at most Asian stores). Also, the best thing to eat with sinigang is rice that's NOT newly cooked. If you're having sinigang for dinner, make sure to make the rice at least two hours before (I make mine by lunch) and let it cool off a bit. You can microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I make this like my friend I work with makes it. She uses radishes and spinach, no tomato or ginger but I would try it with both. Tamarind soup base is hard to find where I live, only one little shop that's only open two days a week. Love this soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Pork sinigang is my absolute favorite filipino dish. One of the most delicious things about sinigang is that you can add almost any kind of leafy green vegetable like bok choy, baby bok choy, or spinach. My family has always included a lot of green vegetables. In addition, we add radishes. Lots of radishes. Then the end result is a full complete meal. Try using pork country ribs as well which is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I cooked this for my fiancee and he loved it! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
this is yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niña

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pagadian City, Zamboanga Del Sur, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States