Pork Sausage and Cabbage Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by SYNEVA B
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
My husband and I both enjoyed this recipe. I make my own Italian sausage using the "Hot Italian Sausage" recipe from Jim Wyllie that is posted on this site. That's an excellent recipe. I just scale it down to 1 pound of sausage since the original recipe makes twenty pounds. The only thing I would change about this recipe is use less red pepper flakes. 1 Tablespoon was too much even though we like spicy foods. It meant the main flavor was hot. It's actually tasty so you want to taste the other flavors. It's very quick and easy for supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe! Seems strange until you try it but it has become a staple meal in our house. I use turkey sausage and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This recipe was fabbbbbbulosss!!!I made it for my family nd they loved it!!And we don't really even care like cabbage or sausage..but we wanted something different so we tried it..i will defenitely make this again!!(oh i wanted to take the advice of one of the other users..to add one regular sausage and one maple but i didn't have any so i added about 2tbsp off maple syrup..fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I liked it, my husband didn't. I didn't like it as much when I tried to eat it without the pita. Is that weird? Somehow the pita made it all work for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is a really quick meal to whip up and delicious as well. I gave it five stars for ease in preparation and flavor. I have made it with mild pork sausage a couple of times. Once, to make it a little healthier I used turkey sausage, which did not have as much flavor. No matter which sausage I used, I found it had a lot of spice with the pepper...I just need to remember to back off the hot pepper next time. Whew! It was a little bit too spicy, but darn it, these were addictive!!! The sour cream balanced the spiciness, so that was a relief! Try this recipe, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
my husband loved it. didnt think it was too spicy and used exact measurements. husband said even though full he wanted to keep eating for flavor. i am less into spicy and i still thought a tablespoon of red pepper was fine, though mouth was hot. he suggested left over i add shrimp and shaved carrot and make homemade eggrolls. we had a lot of left over with four eating. i will half recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My husband and I made this tonight for dinner and thought it was quite good. I am not a huge fan of sausage so we used 1 lb spicy ground sausage mixed with 1/2 lb ground beef. Based on previous reviews we used only 1 teaspoon red pepper. We thought it came out tasty without being at all spicy (we will use more red pepper in the future). We also used bagged coleslaw mix. We did find that the sausage/cabbage mix was a bit runny and we will try draining the cabbage after wilting next time to see if it helps. We also used gyro bread (and spread dijon mustard on the bread). This is a good recipe to try if you are looking for something quick and different. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Okay... so I listened to past posters and used a hot sausage. Big mistake. The pepper in the recipe is enough! It was so hot we couldn't even finish the meal. But I'm giving it 4 stars because it really is a good dish! Different flavor but easy to eat. Pork Sausage isn't just for breakfest. Will make again in it's original recipe form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Very good but cut down the red pepper flakes by at least half if you don't want your mouth to burn. I didn't cut it down enough & my mouth was on fire! I had to drink a lot of milk & I added extra sour cream to my pita to help with the burning in my mouth. I used mild sweet Italian sausage. Thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Very easy and really good. Added fresh garlic. Whole family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States