Pork Sausage and Cabbage Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I had a head of cabbage from the garden & pound of pork sausage I needed to use, so I thought this looked like a simple solution. It was! The only thing that was even remotely "hard" was the effort in grating the cabbage--maybe 7 minutes. The first bite was alright & then it just seemed to get better & better with each bite! We used the new Earth Grains "Thin Buns" instead of pitas, but used halves & kind of wrapped them around the "filling" like a pita--fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Definitely use less red pepper, as many suggested! I used around 1 - 1.5 tsp; and it was perfect. Since I have a few in my family that are not crazy about onions, I used green onion (chives) instead. My entire family loved this recipe, even the ones who don't normally like cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Absolutely delicious! My husband said that the filling part of this recipe was one of the most delightful things he had ever put in his mouth. We don't use white sugar around our house (mostly use brown or raw), so I used brown in place of white sugar. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
My husband loved it. Me, not so much. I've never been a big fan of ground sausage anyway. To many conflicting flavors I thought. It needs a lot more cabbage. I give it three stars because of how much my husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sexy Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
It was pretty good, if you like cabbage and pork. But the pita was non-sequitar. It added nothing to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THATSSWELL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I really enjoyed this dish. I reduced the crushed red pepper to 1 tsp and it still had plenty of kick. I also used 1 lb. of mild breakfast sausage and a bag of coleslaw mix. I'l make ths one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This was great but skipped the pita and served with potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Personally, I give it 5 stars for flavor, but the rest of the family was very unimpressed. Scaled the recipe to 4 servings which allowed me to use 1 lb sausage and one bag of prepackaged cole slaw. I cut the red pepper flakes in half and very glad I did - still pretty spicy, but perfect for my taste. I thought the filling was so good that the pita was unnecessary - I enjoyed it as a one skillet meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States