Pork Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This recipe assumes knowledge not everyone will have. For instance, you should brown the flour in the drippings, and use your whisk to break up all lumps during that stage. If you wait until you add milk to break up the lumps, forget it -- they won't break! Once you've made a "roux" with your flour and drippings, you can add milk. Good tip: The consistency of the roux will likely match the consistency of your gravy when finished. Thick roux equals thick gravy, etc. Please, please never be tempted to add water to make southern-style sausage gravy. Mix the milk into the roux with your whisk. I never measure for a recipe like this -- just eyeball it. If it won't thicken you can add cornstarch mixed with water, but it's better just to add your milk incrementially. If it's too thick the addition of more milk will take care of it. Serve over buttermilk biscuits and you have one of the most delightful comfort foods known to man. 3 stars because it needs more instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
My family loves sausage gravy over biscuits, but when I make this only use 1# of sausage to 4 cups of skim milk and thicken with flour when I brown the sausage. Usually use 2 tablespoons of flour to a cup of milk. We only have this 2 - 3 times a year. So you don't have to give up everything, just use moderation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amy beth
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I'll admit, I changed the recipe a little but even as written I'm sure it is very good. I used 1 pound of sausage, 2 cups of milk, and about 1/3 cup of flour. I browned the sausage, added the flour and mixed it until I couldn't see the white of the flour anymore. I then added the milk 1/2 cup at a time. I stirred until it was thick and boiling, turned it down and added some pepper. I didn't add any salt; it didn't need any. I used mild sausage. I think it would have been better had I used a flavored sausage or maybe hot. Anyway, it was very good and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
May I suggest reading Flobees suggestions? She is exactly correct when she says to use 2 tablespoons flour to one cup of milk. I don't use skim milk, though. Also, I suggest using one pound of regular sausage and one pound of hot or spicy sausage, then brown it with some chopped onions. Finally, as Flobees suggests, add the flour to the sausage after the sausage is browned (make sure the sausage is coated) and then add the milk. You shouldn't have a problem with lumps (just don't add additional flour after adding the milk!) I usually use 4 tablespoons of flour and 4 cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Recipe is a little vague. When i first started making good sausage gravy, i didn't know enough to cook the rue well before adding milk. Also, i use cast iron for everything, and as a result i use too high a heat and i lose a lot of fat. I usually fix that problem by adding a stick of butter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Zoppa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
Traditional Southern recipe. If you want it thicker, add more flour. Too thick? Add more milk. Do not ever use water. Also, if you don't want lumps, you need to constantly stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I used low fat sausage and it wasn't enough to make a rue. I think next time I will shake the flour and milk together before pouring it in the pan. That will eliminate lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this for breakfast one day to get use of our leftover biscuits. It was decent, but I had to add seasoning in order to rid the taste of flour. Next time I think I will cook sausage or even bacon to have the grease and then make the gravy, I think that will help flavor it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
A very simple and very good recipie close to how my mother taught me to make it. Easy to make, scales well to different serving sizes, and refridgerates well with easy microwave re-heating for a quick meal on the go. My mom prefered to use "sage" sausage for this while I prefer a much spicier sausage. I've never had a problem with flour clumps, even when I don't separate out the sausage first (or if there were lumps I didn't notice since the gravy is so chunky with sausage in it.) I prefer to serve over toasted english muffins rather than biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
it was good my husband liked it. i would use it again, i might tinker with it a little bit i thought it was a little too bland for my liking next time i may add a little cayanne pepper. for a little added kick. but i would recommend it to others thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usafmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States