Pork Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is similar to a version I've made for years. But I drain my sausage after browning, return to kettle, melt in 3 T. butter and then coat with flour, stirring well...then I gradually stir in milk stirring constantly to desired thickness. I love a few shakes of Tabasco on top of gravy smothered toast then...mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muddytigers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
very good I did not measure anything but it still turned out awesome. I have never measured anything in my life I go by what looks right. always turns out great.My Grand Mother & Mother was the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amy beth
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I'll admit, I changed the recipe a little but even as written I'm sure it is very good. I used 1 pound of sausage, 2 cups of milk, and about 1/3 cup of flour. I browned the sausage, added the flour and mixed it until I couldn't see the white of the flour anymore. I then added the milk 1/2 cup at a time. I stirred until it was thick and boiling, turned it down and added some pepper. I didn't add any salt; it didn't need any. I used mild sausage. I think it would have been better had I used a flavored sausage or maybe hot. Anyway, it was very good and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Recipe is a little vague. When i first started making good sausage gravy, i didn't know enough to cook the rue well before adding milk. Also, i use cast iron for everything, and as a result i use too high a heat and i lose a lot of fat. I usually fix that problem by adding a stick of butter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Zoppa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
it was good my husband liked it. i would use it again, i might tinker with it a little bit i thought it was a little too bland for my liking next time i may add a little cayanne pepper. for a little added kick. but i would recommend it to others thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usafmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
May I suggest reading Flobees suggestions? She is exactly correct when she says to use 2 tablespoons flour to one cup of milk. I don't use skim milk, though. Also, I suggest using one pound of regular sausage and one pound of hot or spicy sausage, then brown it with some chopped onions. Finally, as Flobees suggests, add the flour to the sausage after the sausage is browned (make sure the sausage is coated) and then add the milk. You shouldn't have a problem with lumps (just don't add additional flour after adding the milk!) I usually use 4 tablespoons of flour and 4 cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This recipe assumes knowledge not everyone will have. For instance, you should brown the flour in the drippings, and use your whisk to break up all lumps during that stage. If you wait until you add milk to break up the lumps, forget it -- they won't break! Once you've made a "roux" with your flour and drippings, you can add milk. Good tip: The consistency of the roux will likely match the consistency of your gravy when finished. Thick roux equals thick gravy, etc. Please, please never be tempted to add water to make southern-style sausage gravy. Mix the milk into the roux with your whisk. I never measure for a recipe like this -- just eyeball it. If it won't thicken you can add cornstarch mixed with water, but it's better just to add your milk incrementially. If it's too thick the addition of more milk will take care of it. Serve over buttermilk biscuits and you have one of the most delightful comfort foods known to man. 3 stars because it needs more instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
Traditional Southern recipe. If you want it thicker, add more flour. Too thick? Add more milk. Do not ever use water. Also, if you don't want lumps, you need to constantly stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Maybe I did something wrong, but I followed the recipe to the letter and had to throw the gravy away, it was lumpy and unedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I used low fat sausage and it wasn't enough to make a rue. I think next time I will shake the flour and milk together before pouring it in the pan. That will eliminate lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States