Pork Roast with Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
OK, EVERYBODY, LISTEN UP! If your complaint is that the meat was TOO DRY, then you need to get out your meat thermometer and USE IT! The #1 reason that pork is "dry" is that you have overcooked it! Pork should be done to an internal temperative of 160 degrees. There should be a touch of pink to it. Sorry, some of you are from the old school of NO PINK IN PORK, but that is just simply not true. This was an absolutely DELICIOUS recipe. My teenage son came up from the rec room to inquire what that AMAZING SMELL was! We ALL loved it! I'll be making this again and again! Only substitution I made was using white wine vinegar as I did not have apple cider vinegar on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Maziarka

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
This is an AWESOME recipe and the way I made it will probably be the only way I make a pork roast from now on. I used about a 3 pound pork loin roast and the first thing I did was make a mixture of 1 1/2 Tblsp. fresh rosemary, 1 tsp. garlic salt, 1/2 tsp. dried thyme, and 1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper and put that along with the roast in a plastic bag, shaking it up to coat the roast with the mixture and let in sit in the refrigerator for about an hour or so. After taking it out again I continued on with this recipe just as written and did also add about a tsp. of caraway, as one other reviewer suggested. I put it in a smaller pan so that the juices wouldn't evaporate as quickly and when it was done we used the juices as au jus. IT WAS WONDERFUL! Great flavor, very moist and tender. I think the vinegar helps with that. I served oven roasted vegetables from this website with this, butternut squash, and apple crisp for dessert. It was a very memorable meal that everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Viroqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Great recipe. I do mine in a crock pot on low for about 6-7 hours. It turns out great...and the drippings make a great base for a nice gravy. A great way to do a pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Great recipe. This was the first time I've made a pork roast. I used fresh thyme and added more cider vinegar as it evaporated during cooking. During the last hour of cooking, I added chopped potato, onion, and carrots, tossed with a small amount of olive oil, garlic salt, ground black pepper, and balsalmic vinegar, to the roasting pan. I also added some chopped green and red bell peppers, zucchini, and yellow squash to the veggie mixture the last 20 minutes. Served with cranberries, green tossed salad and crusty bread. The roast was quite juicy and had great flavor. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Very good, and the deal about smell in kitchen I don't get. I had no problem, but I'm a man and we're not supposed to smell as well as women! Anyway the main thing about this recipe is the cooking time. I used a 5 lb boneless pork loin and it was at 170 degrees after 2 hrs! So start watching it at around 2 hours. I hadn't yet put the sourkraut around it yet so had to take the roast out and just bake it by it's self. I also used a great cranberry sauce to spoon over the servings. Take 1 can cranberry sauce plus 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 cup orange juice and heat on stove until desolved and spoon over meat. Very good. Time to go I am now hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
I loved this recipe. My husband is very picky eater and generally does not like pork. A friend gave me a loin roast so I was searching for a creative way to fix it. I used balsamic because that was what I had on hand at the time. It was heavenly!!! My 9 year old also loved it. He poured some of the juices over his mashed potatoes and raved about those also. Will definitely fix again...as a matter of fact, I have one in the oven right now. I would recommend monitoring the doneness because it got done faster than the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Very moist and tasty. A few changes: I used 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar in place of cider vinegar and added 1 can of beef broth to the mix. I sprinkled the roast with meat tenderizer and granulated garlic in additon to the salt and pepper and garlic cloves. I added 4 peeled and cut potatoes and 3 carrots during the last hour of cooking. Total cooking time was 3 1/2 hours for a 5 lb. roast. The sauce made an excellent gravy. My husband is a great cook, and rated this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Best ever! I felt like I was eating at a 5-star resturant! This is one to keep and cherish - I will serve this the next time I have company. I added a little sage and some caraway seeds to the rub, omitted the salt (hubby can't have any) and doubled the amount of bay leaves. It was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This is unbelievable. I am always looking for an easy pork recipe, and this fills the bill. I upt the thyme a little and used a small 8X8 brownie pan. The juices didn't burn up in the pan. The vinegar smell lasts for a short time, and gives way to delicious smells. I can't say enough about this recipe. I use so many complex recipes with lots of ingredients. This was a great change of pace. I served the loin with spaetzle. They soaked up the au jus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I decided to use this recipe for a holiday roast and it was well received by my guests, as a matter of fct they raved about it and wanted the recipe. Contrary to what others have said my house did not smell like vinegar. That might have been because I used considerably less vinegar marinade. The recipe called for what seemed like too much so I reduced the marinade by almost half. Plus I used a combo of rice and apple cider vinegar. The next time I will try a combo of rice and balsamic to see which one I liked best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States