Pork Roast with Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Very moist. I added sliced onions to the vinegar which my husband loved. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
We love this recipe!! You can get pre portioned Pork Loins at Costco, just the right size for this recipe. I did make a couple of changes: About half way I switch to apple juice instead of vinegar and I baste every 15 minutes the whole time. A really simple and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena Ledgerwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I used Rosemary instead of thyme and also used red wine garlic vinager instead of cider vinager needless to say this recipe came out great I went by the internal temp rather than cooking time and it came out really moist. My best pork roast to date. Would really reccommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
The ingredients are so simple that the taste is deceiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I made a 1.5 lb pork roast in my crockpot on high for 1.5 hours. I really liked the seasoning but unfortunately it didn't cook long enough to temper the strong flavor of the vinegar. Luckily I love the flavor of vinegar. I added the rosemary as the other reviewers said, also chopped up half an onion and threw in some frozen baby carrots. The vegetables came out delicious!!!! I love the vinegar/thyme/bay/rosemary infusion in the carrots so much I am planning to experiment on a cold carrot salad with the vinegar/thyme dressing. Maybe simmer it all on the stovetop and then chill. Thanks so much for the great flavoring! Oh the meat was tasty as well, I should have started it earlier and slow cooked it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This is GREAT!! I used my slow cooker and put 4 small bay leaves and 1 onion sliced on the bottom and on top of that I put a 6lb. shoulder blade pork roast with the garlic slivers(a must). I only had 1/4 c. of cider vinegar so to that I added 1/4c of apple cider to make 1/2c liquid. Poured that over the roast and cooked it on high for 7 hrs. The roast came out so tender and juicy, I've never had it like that before and the gravy was out of this world. This will be the only way I'll make a pork roast again. Thank You Teresa for this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was very tender & had a lot of flavor. I used a 3 lb pork roast. There wasn't enough sauce so I added an additional cup of apple cider vinegar with thyme & poured it over the pork about half way through cooking. I also added about 4 oz of beer, light ale actually, to the bottom of the pan. Don't know if this was necessary but it blended with the vinegard & thyme quite nicely. Will definitely use this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I was not impressed with this, unfortunately. The pork came out moist enough, but the taste was very lacking. Very, very bland (obviously pork isn't the most flavorful meat in the world, but the seasonings didn't help any). I followed the recipe exactly and just wasn't happy with the results. I made a simple gravy from the drippings which made it decent, but I won't make this one again. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Pretty good. Bf liked it. I can't say I was that big of a fan, but to be fair, 1) I wasn't that hungry and 2) I'm not a big fan of pork roast anyway. I didn't think the cider vinegar was too strong. I added some rosemary to the pot, and I used more garlic than called for. I had minced garlic, so I just used that instead. I cooked it in the slow cooker like another reviewer did. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was a good (and simple!) recipe that I would make again. Like many reviewers, the 1/2 cup vinegar evaporated very quickly (and I used a pan only slightly larger than the roast). I added another 1/2 cup of vinegar and then probably about a cup of water during the cooking time and was left with about 3 Tb of au jus (GREAT flavor - just wanted more of it). The roast was quite lean so that was likely part of the cause. I roasted it to 150 and let it sit for 10 minutes to rise up to 160. Next time I'll start with 1 cup of vinegar, 1 cup of water and a few Tb of olive oil, and will use a bigger pan so I can toss in some potatoes during the last hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Richards

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States