Pork Roast with Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I did not like this at all. It was very bland, and it took much less time to cook than the recipe called for. I usually love pork recipes that call for stuffing the meat with garlic, but this one was not a hit at my dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Superb! Definately the only way to ever make pork again. A must to use a meat thermometer and remove at 160. Roast was so flavorful, moist and tender. I served this with mashed potatoes and stewed cabbage from this site. My family cleaned their entire plate and my 14 year old son had seconds and cleaned the second plate as well. I put the garlic in the slits and made a dry rub of seasonings similar to another reviewer and left it in the fridge for 24 hours in an airtight ziplock bag, then followed the recipe as written. Everyone should try this roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Industry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I thought at first this was gonna kinda bland - but it was so tender and flavorful! I did use red wine vinegar and balsamic together. That's the only thing I changed! It was great! i also too it out at 155 degrees. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berwyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I added a sliced onion and some sliced apple on top of the roast. Came out very tender and good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I have made this twice now exactly as described (*with two procedural exceptions, see below) and it turns out beautifully for me. I make it in a covered cast iron oval roaster. *I never baste, and I remove the cover at 2 1/2 hrs, check the temp and then continue to roast until the required temp is reached. This gives me a nice browning on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Cooked as instructed with a 3 1/2 lb bone-in pork roast. I also added some cut potatoes after about 1 hour cooking time to the pan with a small amount of butter. It was perfect and my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Fantastic...don't change a thing with this recipe...it's perfect...I'm not kidding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this recipe in the crock pot with the same directions, with the exception of one added shallot. My boyfriend really liked it, I thought it was good but not great. No major problems with vinegar smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This recipe made a fabulous-tasting, juicy roast. Don't be alarmed at the smell of vinegar when you first put the roast in the oven. It dissipates after 30-40 minutes. Thanks so much, this recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
quite good added some chicken broth as there wasn't enough juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States