Pork Roast with Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 99cookirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
These were good though not everyone in the family enjoyed them fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This recipe teeters between 3 and 4 stars in my book. Definitely earns 5 stars for simplicity based on how it's written, though I always sear the roast before cooking it and substitute white wine for the vinegar. I think it's tasty and simple, just wish the exterior flavor carried through the entire roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I'm not sure if I did something wrong - but this was very disappointing. The pork was tender but the flavor was not very good. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
From a seasoning standpoint, I liked the combination,but if I ever make this again I'll try using a different cut of meat, like a pork tenderloin. This was my first time to make a pork roast that wasn't the pre-seasoned type in a bag, and my family and I were disappointed in the dish overall. But I'm attributing this to the meat (we used a Hormel pork butt roast). Didn't care for the pork flavor itself or the toughness of this roast. I cooked this in a crockpot so it was wonderfully easy, and the roast itself made plenty of juice so I didn't have to add any other broth or water. I did periodically bast it. But ugh, wrong cut of meat. I don't think all the seasoning in the world could redeem the taste and texture of a pork butt roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I followed these directions to the T, I had to add water to the pan as the cider vinegar mixture dried out. It was still delicious and I will definately make again. As to the vinegar smell we didn't mind it went away after a while
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I, too, had some problems with losing the moisture before the roast was done. I added a bit of apple juice to the pan and covered it, once the original juices ran out. The end result was a fully cooked, moist and flavorful roast. The seasoning on this recipe is just right. I'll be saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Delicious with sweet potatoes and apples cooked with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Pork roast is not my favorite but using this recipe as a starting point it was delicious and is company-worthy. As a "seasoned" cook, I usually customize recipes to our taste or using ingredients on hand: I used additional seasonings of rosemary, crushed fennel seeds and lemon-pepper and placed it in a zip-lock in the fridge for about an hour. I pan seared it before placing it in the oven and used about 1/2 cup chicken broth. Because it was small (2 lbs) it was done in about 1-1/2 hours. The thickened broth made a wonderful gravy. I'll be using this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
top notch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States