Pork Roast with Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
These were good though not everyone in the family enjoyed them fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This recipe teeters between 3 and 4 stars in my book. Definitely earns 5 stars for simplicity based on how it's written, though I always sear the roast before cooking it and substitute white wine for the vinegar. I think it's tasty and simple, just wish the exterior flavor carried through the entire roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I'm not sure if I did something wrong - but this was very disappointing. The pork was tender but the flavor was not very good. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
From a seasoning standpoint, I liked the combination,but if I ever make this again I'll try using a different cut of meat, like a pork tenderloin. This was my first time to make a pork roast that wasn't the pre-seasoned type in a bag, and my family and I were disappointed in the dish overall. But I'm attributing this to the meat (we used a Hormel pork butt roast). Didn't care for the pork flavor itself or the toughness of this roast. I cooked this in a crockpot so it was wonderfully easy, and the roast itself made plenty of juice so I didn't have to add any other broth or water. I did periodically bast it. But ugh, wrong cut of meat. I don't think all the seasoning in the world could redeem the taste and texture of a pork butt roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I followed these directions to the T, I had to add water to the pan as the cider vinegar mixture dried out. It was still delicious and I will definately make again. As to the vinegar smell we didn't mind it went away after a while
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I, too, had some problems with losing the moisture before the roast was done. I added a bit of apple juice to the pan and covered it, once the original juices ran out. The end result was a fully cooked, moist and flavorful roast. The seasoning on this recipe is just right. I'll be saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Delicious with sweet potatoes and apples cooked with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Pork roast is not my favorite but using this recipe as a starting point it was delicious and is company-worthy. As a "seasoned" cook, I usually customize recipes to our taste or using ingredients on hand: I used additional seasonings of rosemary, crushed fennel seeds and lemon-pepper and placed it in a zip-lock in the fridge for about an hour. I pan seared it before placing it in the oven and used about 1/2 cup chicken broth. Because it was small (2 lbs) it was done in about 1-1/2 hours. The thickened broth made a wonderful gravy. I'll be using this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
top notch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I did not like this at all. It was very bland, and it took much less time to cook than the recipe called for. I usually love pork recipes that call for stuffing the meat with garlic, but this one was not a hit at my dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States