Pork Roast with Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was a great recipe. I did make a few adjustments, but not many. I added more salt and pepper because one teaspoon isn't going to flavor a whole roast. But that's up to personal taste. I used red wine vinegar and mixed it with apple cider, salt and pepper, powdered garlic and onion. I used rosemary instead of thyme because that was the herb I had handy. I added potatoes, carrot, and onion for the last hour to roast. I took the meat out and then cranked the oven to finish off the veg. It was very flavorful and very juicy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Fantastic! This is a keeper. Used fresh Thyme from my herb garden and red wine vinegar and keep a close eye on internal temp....it was moist, tender and amazing. I whisked some Dijon style mustard into the juices and a few drops of lemon. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this recipe for Easter in the Crock Pot, added chicken broth, then put in oven to finish. WOW! My guest raved about the roast. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Couldnt really tell you if this was good or not. I made it exactly as stated. My kids (toddlers) wouldn't touch it. My husband who'll eat anything didn't care for it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
i made this just as the recipe said and i thought it was a little bland. maybe i cooked it too long, because it was really dry also. next time i'll have to make sure my pork has a nice fat cap and i'll use more garlic..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri Koop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Very good. I made this in the crock pot and it turned out great. The only think I changed was I added a bit of beef stock (paste) to the crock pot for added flavor. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Great recipe! I had a 3 lb roast and it was finished in 2 hrs. I did keep it covered for the first hour and basted as recommended. It was well done, but tender and did not dry out. I also put a pan of sweet potato and apple chunks tossed in olive oil and sea salt in with it for the last hour, and they turned out perfect with the roast. I also made a gravy with the drippings left in the pan. Definitely doing again - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LL Kid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
BEST pork roast I have had. Everyone loved it. Tender and juicy. (Whoops...I forgot the bay leaves...still yummy.) My only note is that it was done WAY sooner! I was glad I had a thermometer in it. After one hour, it was already 158 degrees (but keep in mind it was a much smaller roast...maybe 2 pounds). The rest of dinner wasn't ready, so I just turned off the oven and let it sit there for about 30-45 minutes. Then I had it rest outside the oven, covered for 10-15 minutes while we finished making dinner. After slicing, I returned it to the pan with juices (adding a couple Tbsp. of chicken broth to thin it out and break off the bits from the bottom of the pan) and put it back into the oven to warm. Moist and delish! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Good, but a bit too much smell and flavor of apple cider for me. Will try again with less cider. And, 6-7 hours in crock pot as one person suggested was way too long for mine. It was overcooked in just 3 hours. For gravy, I followed the instructions on the Kitchen Boquet bottle, and my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
It was moist, but the vinegar was overpowering and made the kids growl at me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States