Pork Roast with Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Sorry, it just didn't come out. I took everyones suggestions and didn't worry about the smell etc. It just is not a good recipe. One of the very very few on this site I didn't care for personally. No offense to the org. poster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This is one of the easiest pork recipes I've ever prepared. I made a few slits in the meat and filled them w/minced garlic. I mixed the rest of the ingredients in a ziplock bag and let the pork marinate for a couple of hours. As other reviewers suggested, I used a pan just big enough to fit the roast to help prevent the liquid from evaporating too quickly. Basting Is A Must! The kitchen smelled strongly of vinegar while it was roasting, but the flavor turned out great and was not overpowering. I had a 2 lb roast and used a meat thermometer to pull it out at 160.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This turned out great and looked cool too. Everyone commented on what a great (fancy) cook I was-little did they know how easy it was to make. One small problem-I didn't have a roasting pan so I put it in a 9X13 and that must have been too big because all the juice evaporated off within the first 30 min. (Also-my house really smelled like vinegar for the first hour). I freaked out when I saw the juice was gone, so I added 1/4 cup of water. I had to do this about 3 times because it kept evaporating off. Not sure why, but the roast tasted great in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I just made this dish for new years and it was the best, moist pork roast I have ever made. A few important factors are key for this dish. Whomever wrote the review about the meat themometer was so right. Use it and take this out of the oven at 160 degrees. I put minced bay leafs on top and baste often. I added about 1/3 cup of water after about an hour of cooking from evaporation. This is so easy and soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Ridge, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was a very good recipe. It got good reviews from everyone who ate it. I've never made a pork roast by myself before, so it worked good. My boyfriend says "no Thyme", but I didn't listen this time(I go a little crazy sometimes). I cut the amount of vinegar, as I had only a 4 pound roast. I used the same amount of garlic, though. I also added garlic and onion powder, too, just a pinch. Two hours cooking time was perfect (every meat thermometer I,ve owned broke). It came out great though, the tastiest pork roast I've ever had. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forestport, New York, USA
Living In: Alder Creek, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
My husband tasted the 'small' amount of garlic (he hates garlic), so he wasn't crazy about this one. Personally, I think the next time I would marinate it first, since it didn't come out as tender as I hoped. I also added bay leaves under the fat top layer, as another reviewer suggested, but I didn't like that at all! I don't feel that the 1/2 cup of vinegar was enough liquid for this recipe. I'll make some adjustments the next time I make this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra DeFalco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I added rosemary and garlic salt to the spices, put them all in a bag, added the roast and shook to coat. I also seared the roast on ALL sides and used Balsamic vinegar. Basting is a MUST! This was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This makes a fabulous roast if you do it right. It is not for those skinny pork loin roasts and if you try to do it with one of those you'll need to cook it for a lot less time. I have made this many times and what makes this recipe special for me is the bay leaves! So I now use A LOT more bay leaves. I pretty much cover the bottom of the roast with them, then half way through I turn the roast over and pull off all the bay leaves and stick them under the side that is now facing down. That way the bay flavor infuses into the meat. I've seen lots of recipes with the garlic and I wouldn't skip that step, but the bay leaves mix with the garlic in an amazing way. Also, keep in mind, the vinegar smell may bother some people while it is cooking, but they won't complain about the flavor of the roast when it's done. I've tried using a number of different vinegars, but ultimately they'll have that smell no matter what you do when they're boiling off. I like either the cider vinegar or balsamic. (Though FYI: Bobby Flay recommends sherry vinegar in place of balsamic for recipes and I tried it and thought it was gross!) :) UPDATE: 12/14 I now use more bay leaves, I stick them to the roast all the way around (maybe four per side) and I use more garlic and more thyme. However, I now use half white balsamic vinegar and half vermouth. It cuts the vinegar smell a bit and the flavor is still awesome. My family loves this as sliced lunch meat after too. It's like an herbed deli meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Amazingly moist and flavorful! Super easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Very good, juicy and flavorful. I was a bit wary of that much vinegar so I used 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar and mixed it with 1/4 cup olive oil and the thyme. I used jarred garlic also so that might not have been as strong. I baked it for an hour and a half at 375, until it was up to 170 degrees, and I basted 3 times. It came out perfect. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States