Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Every bit a 5 star!!! As to the smell and bitter taste of the Sauerkraut, my Mother told me to alway's add a little sugar!! Every time I cook Kraut I alway's add sugar. This is a wonderful meal!! Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Very good. Used a 5 lb pork roast, 4 lbs sauerkraut (2 bags), and one lb kielbasa. I also added a bottle of beer and I'm glad I did ... it added much-needed liquidity and there was NO beer taste at the time of serving. I might add even another bottle because the juice was to die for but there was not a whole lot of it. My crock pot worked fine for about 2 hours and then stopped working for about an hour before I realized it, so I dumped it all in a large stock pot and simmered it all on the stove for a few hours. Served w/homemade mashed potatoes and applesauce. Really really good. The kielbasa got pretty soft, so if I do it on the stove next time I'll add the kielbasa in halfway through the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Made this twice now and it's great. I just moved to the heart of PA Dutch country and the locals I know here seem to really like it. The second time, I did add some brown sugar (no more than 1/4c) and 1 chopped apple. Is an awful lot of sauerkraut (I did cut it down by 1lb second time) but I use the leftover for topping on hotdogs. Yummy. Thanks for letting me know how easy this is. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nuttingh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marietta, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Sacrilege, but this is better than Grandmas....sorry Grandma. The pork is impossibly tender, the kielbasa a great punctuator. Now, I will say one of Grandmas alterations will be making it in next time...in the form of half sauerkraut, half fresh chopped cabbage. Like homemade yogurt using a regular yogurt to feed it bacteria or sourdough bread using a "starter", the commercial sauerkraut catalyzes fresh cabbage into something special - and far more delicious than "just" canned or bagged kraut....not to mention the textural differences of the larger cabbage pieces (I use a knife to cut 2" pyramid corners into the mix). Anyhow, this recipe earns it's five stars handily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Everyone in my house loved it except for me. Too much sauerkraut for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chanel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Camp Pendleton, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
i made this for my wife on valentine's day. she loved it and passed it around to her friends. although i can't stand sauerkraut, everything else was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
My husband loved this dish, however, 6 hours on high is definitely too long. I cooked it 6 hours on low, and the kielbasa was still just mush, as others here have reported. Remember, smoked sausage, kielbasa, etc. is already "fully cooked" anyway, especially the commercial packaged. Next time I will quickly sauté kielbasa and add in the end of the cooking time. I did add onion, diced granny smith apples and a little brown sugar. We are a family of 4 and 4 lbs. of sauerkraut was just too much. I just used 2 cans of sauerkraut. I will make this again, but only cook maybe 4 hours on low. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I was looking for an original way to do traditional new year's pork, and this was great! With potatoes and rolls, it was a perfect family meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I really like sauerkraut. Howerever, when I cook it nobody seems to like the sour taste or the aroma when it is cooking. So for anyone who feels the same as my family, I found out if you add a bay leaf or two(depending how much kraut you are cooking) to the kraut,it takes some of the sour taste and some of aroma away. Just remember to remove the bay leaf before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I thought this was the best recipe I have tried yet. It was perfect. I always follow recipes exactly as written the first time and I wouldn't change a thing the next time. It was delicious. Reminded me of my mom's but just a little bit different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States