Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Tasty but definetly for sauerkraut lovers. Because my kielbasa was precooked I followed the suggestions of others and left it out until the final hour. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was really good. I made some adjustments and additions like others suggested and the whole family really enjoyed. I drained one 2lb bag of sauerkraut and than combined the drained and the un drained bag in the crock pot added about a teaspoon or so of caraway seeds and mixed together. Removed about half the sauerkraut to make room for the pork roast that I seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder then seared off in cast iron pan with olive oil. Placed the roast in crock pot added back the rest of the sauerkraut along with ¾ of a dark beer. Cooked for 6 hours and added a handful of baby carrots a small can of white potatoes and the kielbasa. Cooked for an additional 2 hours. Served with spicy brown mustard and a fresh loaf of rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cullinanpat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I love sour kraut and kiebasa and tried this two years in a row for large gatherings. I tried many tricks recommended to give it pizazz and it again ended up dry and bland. Used the dry pork with some BBQ sauce a second day as guests preferred the spicy & sweet rub recipe found on this site. Pass this up for a crowd pleaser in fortunately. Everyone enjoyed huge sauer kraut and kiebasa though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
In crock pot, I layered 1 1lb bag saurkraut + 1T caraway seeds + 3.5 boneless pork roast + 2 Granny Smiths, cored and thickly sliced + 1lb kielbasa cut into 2-3" pieces, put along each side of pork roast + 1 bag saurkraut + 1T caraway seeds. Put it on low and let it go for 6 hours. Simple! Delish! Mashed potatoes and black eyed peas = Happy and Healthy New Year, America!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ru Lightcap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
My Fiance and I made this for our New Years Eve dinner. It was amazing. We followed your directions to the letter. I don't believe I've ever tasted kielbasa or pork that was so succulent. Thank you so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made this for New Years dinner & it was excellent! The pork was tender and the flavors were wonderful. I did add half a beer & I also didn't have any kielbasa, but next time I will make sure I have some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Excellent recipe, but I think the cooking time is a little off for the Kielbasa. You can add the kielbasa right at the end, maybe the last hour, just to heat through. There's no need to cook it the entire time if you get the precooked kind, and if you do it'll end up like mush. I subed the roast for some pork chops just becase they don't need to cook as long and there were only 2 of us eating this. I seared them and then added them with the kielbasa near the end. I also threw in a box of frozen perogies when there was about 30 mins left of cook time. Served the kielbasa and pork on sandwichs with sauerkraut and perogies on the side...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Our family makes this using pork ribs, caraway seeds, cut potatoes, some cut apple. I usually take some kraut and kielbasi out and put it on a thick bun, with yellow mustard. The rest goes on a plate. Maybe some apple juice if you don't like it so sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
My Hubby is from central Pennsylvania also so we have a version of this dish for New Years. The only thing I do different is add minced onion and caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mulvane, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Pork was great but my kielbasa turned to mush. Must have overcooked it so my fault. But super tasty and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States