Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Sacrilege, but this is better than Grandmas....sorry Grandma. The pork is impossibly tender, the kielbasa a great punctuator. Now, I will say one of Grandmas alterations will be making it in next time...in the form of half sauerkraut, half fresh chopped cabbage. Like homemade yogurt using a regular yogurt to feed it bacteria or sourdough bread using a "starter", the commercial sauerkraut catalyzes fresh cabbage into something special - and far more delicious than "just" canned or bagged kraut....not to mention the textural differences of the larger cabbage pieces (I use a knife to cut 2" pyramid corners into the mix). Anyhow, this recipe earns it's five stars handily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Everyone in my house loved it except for me. Too much sauerkraut for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chanel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Camp Pendleton, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
i made this for my wife on valentine's day. she loved it and passed it around to her friends. although i can't stand sauerkraut, everything else was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
My husband loved this dish, however, 6 hours on high is definitely too long. I cooked it 6 hours on low, and the kielbasa was still just mush, as others here have reported. Remember, smoked sausage, kielbasa, etc. is already "fully cooked" anyway, especially the commercial packaged. Next time I will quickly sauté kielbasa and add in the end of the cooking time. I did add onion, diced granny smith apples and a little brown sugar. We are a family of 4 and 4 lbs. of sauerkraut was just too much. I just used 2 cans of sauerkraut. I will make this again, but only cook maybe 4 hours on low. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I was looking for an original way to do traditional new year's pork, and this was great! With potatoes and rolls, it was a perfect family meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I really like sauerkraut. Howerever, when I cook it nobody seems to like the sour taste or the aroma when it is cooking. So for anyone who feels the same as my family, I found out if you add a bay leaf or two(depending how much kraut you are cooking) to the kraut,it takes some of the sour taste and some of aroma away. Just remember to remove the bay leaf before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Holmes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I thought this was the best recipe I have tried yet. It was perfect. I always follow recipes exactly as written the first time and I wouldn't change a thing the next time. It was delicious. Reminded me of my mom's but just a little bit different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
what a fantasic recipe! I made this for New Year's Eve and ate the leftovers on New Year's Day for good luck. I followed the recipe except that I also added a 1/2cup of Ginger ale and I also sprinkled caraway seeds on top of my sauerkraut. I had a four lb roast, so I browned it for 10 min, then cooked it on low for an hour and then high for 6 hours. It was still so juicy and tender the next day! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this for my husband and daughter who love German style food. I used a pork tenderloin instead of a roast and it was really good. Next time I may add some dark beer for some extra flavor. This will definitely stay on my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARLAA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chickasaw, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Delicious! Could have used a little less of the kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States