Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this with 4 center cut pork chops, beef kielbasa and homemade sauerkraut. It was delicious. Cooked on high for 3 hours and low 1 hour so if you're using pork chops instead of roast it might need less time so check sooner than 6 hours or consider cooking on low the entire time. I seasoned chops with ground thyme, black pepper and Lawry's seasoned salt, broiled both sides of chops and added about 1 Tbsp brown sugar (as other reviewers suggested) on top of final layer of sauerkraut. Highly recommend for both the flavor and easy preparation. Thank you, Heather, for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Super easy and tasty dinner. Made some broccoli and rice and done. Definitely double up on the sauce it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
All you could taste was the sauerkraut. I like sauerkraut, but you couldn't taste anything but it, so it made it too over powering. The meat was dry. I didn't care for this at all :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Very good. Made of New Year's Eve. Added 3-4 tsp of brown sugar and about 1 cup of beer. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Everyone loved this recipe. I did wait to put the kielbasa in for about an hour. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Good recipe. The kielbasa was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAKGAMBIT
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The pork was so moist. I rinsed and drained the kraut. Then added some caraway seeds, brown sugar and 1 1/2 Granny Smith apples to it. For the kielbasa, I had to use garlic sausage, it was all I had. I also had to use dried thyme on the pork. This is the way I'll be making my pork for New Year's from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKGAMBIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this today for our New Year's dinner. It says to cook it in a crockpot. However, mine won't fit the roast and kielbasa. So I salt and peppered it on both sides and browned it on all sides in my Dutch oven and then removed it to a plate so I could brown the kielbasa. When I was finished I put a bed of sauerkraut on the bottom and added the pork roast and kielbasa. then top it with the rest of the sauerkraut and the and fresh thyme sprigs. I cooked it on 325 degree preheated oven for 3 hours. it turned out beautifully, moist and tender. I will never cook my roast any other way.If your slow cooker won't fit all of this don't worry use your Dutch oven you won't be sorry. Also I used a little bit of brown sugar to my sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I am not a huge fan of sauerkraut but I decided to be brave and make it since my husband likes sauerkraut and I was up for something new. I LOVED THIS RECIPE!!! Holy have I been missing out. The roast was tender, and the sauerkraut and kielbasa went fabulously with the pork. Thank you Heather for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjwhee29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Simple ingredients, easy to put together and tender results. I used an organic kraut without extra seasonings/salt so I added salt to mine, which it needed. I also used smoked sausage instead of kielbasa. As some noted, the flavor was a little one-dimensional so I would treat this as a base recipe. Next time, I'll add apple juice/cider and caraway...and there will be a next time :) Also, if this turned out dry for you, either your crockpot doesn't have a tight lid, your kraut not enough juice or you're adding veggies that soak up liquid/salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States