Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
All of our family enjoyed this even the little ones. I used Turkey Kielbasa and it had a great flavor, better than the roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This recipe is FANTASTIC and so easy. I swapped the Kielbasa with smoked bratwurst from Aldi - I followed the rest of the recipe exactly I let it cook all day - 10 hours in my slow cooker, I made some creamy mashed potatoes and fresh green beans! This is one of my favorite meals ever! I have been disappointed with my slow cooker meals and this one rocks! My entire family loved it, I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Excellent! I added some chopped onions and basil along with garlic and fresh ground peppercorns. The whole family enjoyed this.. (even ones who hate kraut).. with garlic potatoes and sweet potatoes.. which my kids love.. and cornbread on the side. This recipe will absolutely be made again! Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This brought back many childhood memories. It doesn't have to be Oktoberfest to eat this. I serve it with creamy mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
AWESOME! The pork was VERY moist and everyone loved this at my work and also at my wife's work. The kielbasa was pink inside but well cooked. I added caraway seeds on top and a large potato cut in 1 in cubes with a little onion between the layers of sauerkraut. For prepping the pork, I generously spread extra virgin olive oil over the top and sides of the roast. I used more than two sprigs of thyme . . . I actually did a light dusting of thyme. A very tasty and easy meal to prepare. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis K. Klinedinst

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
My family loves this recipe. The first time I made it I used half the kraut, & was ok. The next time I used all of the kraut & it was much better! The kielbasa just melts in your mouth. I cook this anytime I have 10 or more to cook for. I do now use 2 instead of 1 kielbasa, as there is never any leftovers of it so people can have more than one serving of it & I use the leftover roast for BBQ sandwiches later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
We fix this every New Year's Day. My mother adds a bottle of cola so that the carbonation sends the flavors through the meat. It is impossible to cook this too long. I put everything in the slow cooker at 10pm the night before & then we eat it the following day for lunch. The meat does not dry out if you use plenty of sauerkrauf & the soda. Leftovers of this meal are so yummy. Homeade dumplings cooking in the juices from the slow cooker make an awesome side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENJC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley Springs, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Piffard, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Meat was flavorless and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I made this for our New Year's Day dinner and the roast was great along with the sauerkraut. After cooking the kielbasa according to the receipe directions, I have to agree with another post to not put the sausage in for the whole time because mine was very over done. Other than it, I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I love pork and sauerkraut and this is awesome! Followed suggestions and used caraway seeds, brown sugar, apples, garlic powder, and onion. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States