Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
My husband loved this dish, however, 6 hours on high is definitely too long. I cooked it 6 hours on low, and the kielbasa was still just mush, as others here have reported. Remember, smoked sausage, kielbasa, etc. is already "fully cooked" anyway, especially the commercial packaged. Next time I will quickly sauté kielbasa and add in the end of the cooking time. I did add onion, diced granny smith apples and a little brown sugar. We are a family of 4 and 4 lbs. of sauerkraut was just too much. I just used 2 cans of sauerkraut. I will make this again, but only cook maybe 4 hours on low. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I was looking for an original way to do traditional new year's pork, and this was great! With potatoes and rolls, it was a perfect family meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I really like sauerkraut. Howerever, when I cook it nobody seems to like the sour taste or the aroma when it is cooking. So for anyone who feels the same as my family, I found out if you add a bay leaf or two(depending how much kraut you are cooking) to the kraut,it takes some of the sour taste and some of aroma away. Just remember to remove the bay leaf before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I thought this was the best recipe I have tried yet. It was perfect. I always follow recipes exactly as written the first time and I wouldn't change a thing the next time. It was delicious. Reminded me of my mom's but just a little bit different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
what a fantasic recipe! I made this for New Year's Eve and ate the leftovers on New Year's Day for good luck. I followed the recipe except that I also added a 1/2cup of Ginger ale and I also sprinkled caraway seeds on top of my sauerkraut. I had a four lb roast, so I browned it for 10 min, then cooked it on low for an hour and then high for 6 hours. It was still so juicy and tender the next day! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this for my husband and daughter who love German style food. I used a pork tenderloin instead of a roast and it was really good. Next time I may add some dark beer for some extra flavor. This will definitely stay on my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARLAA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chickasaw, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Delicious! Could have used a little less of the kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I followed the recipe, and added half a bottle of beer, as some others suggested. While the roast was indeed tender, we found the overall taste to be bland. The cooking method seemed to drain the kielbasa of taste too, and there was so much sauerkraut left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoffDNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
good recipe however i always add a can of beer also it takes the bitterness away thry it that way some time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
A fantastic dish that we served a 2 weekends ago as one of the main courses for our son & daughter-in-law's wedding rehearsal dinner. Everyone raved about this dish; the pork was so moist and tender. We'll be holding on to this simple yet terrific recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States