Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was really great. I made it for my first ever New Years Dinner. I added chopped green apples, sliced onions and a bottle of Beck's beer. I rinsed the sour kraut and I'm glad I did. My boyfriend who "hates" sour kraut cleared his plate. I would add more kilbosa next time and less kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
While it is the upcoming Year of the Pig, Chinese New Year doesn't begin until February, and ends next February. According to the dates of the Chinese New Year, we're still in last year...which means it's fine to eat the piggie. :-) Next year? Whole different story, I think. LOL I've made this recipe many a time, and it's terrific. The kielbasa really gives it an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Yes, maybe this is a traditional New Year dish, but not this year. This is a pig's year, and there should not be pork products on the table. Pig doesn't eat herself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I always add quartered, cored apples and brown sugar to my pork and sauerkraut. I also do sausage, but do it seperately w/ cut up peppers and onions and add a sauce of brown sugar, catsup and soy sauce and bake. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I made this recipe because I was dying for some pork, sauerkraut, and mashed potatoes like we always have on New Year...even though it's coming up and presumably I could just make it then. I used pork loin instead of roast because that's what we have at my house on New Year's and I got a decent deal at Sam's Club. I drained the Sauerkraut but didn't rinse (had to run to work!)and added half a bottle of beer and some brown sugar. I put it on high and the boyfriend got home 8 hours later it was burned on the sides - I will definitely put it on low next time. It was really good - the Kielbasa was a nice touch (I used turkey to cut down on the fat a tad)...and I ate it with apple sauce and mashed potatoes and just ate it all on the same fork. New time I would add the whole bottle of beer, and maybe switch to corriander seeds (not sure about the thyme)...I defintely want to use the other half the package of pork loin and make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was awesome!! I only used 1/2 of the sauerkraut and added 1 cup of beef broth. This got rave reviews from all of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This was amazing and easy. I made it for my pickiest friends and they loved it. To add a drop more flavor I added fresh onions. Do yourself a favor and buy high quality kielbasa. Served with fresh rolls, roasted garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. My husband was a little put off by the "tang" of the sauerkraut so next time I will drain and rinse the sauerkraut as suggested by another user.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Great recipe! Will definitly make this again. Although, I only used 3 lbs of Sauerkraut, because my slow cooker isn't that big. But great eatin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
WOW! What a great way to prepare pork roast!! I think it was the best pork roast I've ever eate. My husband really loved it. Said it reminded him of the way his mother used to fix pork roast 50 some years ago. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
What a coincidence...I made this last night!! I add chopped apples, sliced onion and caraway seeds to the kraut and cook it all in a crock pot. I serve with garlic smashed potatoes, green peas, and fresh apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States