Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
AWESOME! The pork was VERY moist and everyone loved this at my work and also at my wife's work. The kielbasa was pink inside but well cooked. I added caraway seeds on top and a large potato cut in 1 in cubes with a little onion between the layers of sauerkraut. For prepping the pork, I generously spread extra virgin olive oil over the top and sides of the roast. I used more than two sprigs of thyme . . . I actually did a light dusting of thyme. A very tasty and easy meal to prepare. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis K. Klinedinst

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
My family loves this recipe. The first time I made it I used half the kraut, & was ok. The next time I used all of the kraut & it was much better! The kielbasa just melts in your mouth. I cook this anytime I have 10 or more to cook for. I do now use 2 instead of 1 kielbasa, as there is never any leftovers of it so people can have more than one serving of it & I use the leftover roast for BBQ sandwiches later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
We fix this every New Year's Day. My mother adds a bottle of cola so that the carbonation sends the flavors through the meat. It is impossible to cook this too long. I put everything in the slow cooker at 10pm the night before & then we eat it the following day for lunch. The meat does not dry out if you use plenty of sauerkrauf & the soda. Leftovers of this meal are so yummy. Homeade dumplings cooking in the juices from the slow cooker make an awesome side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENJC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley Springs, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Piffard, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Meat was flavorless and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I made this for our New Year's Day dinner and the roast was great along with the sauerkraut. After cooking the kielbasa according to the receipe directions, I have to agree with another post to not put the sausage in for the whole time because mine was very over done. Other than it, I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I love pork and sauerkraut and this is awesome! Followed suggestions and used caraway seeds, brown sugar, apples, garlic powder, and onion. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
The meat was so juicy and tender! I cut the kraut down to 2 pounds cause there's only the 2 of us. Didn't drain or rinse it. Added a can of beer to all. My husband said he'd never had kielbasa so tender before (and he's true Polish with a LOT of kielbasa in the past). It made the house smell so good, too. This will be our New Year's meal from now on for sure! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
UPDATED REVIEW, 1-5-09: Second time making this. I still drained my kraut, only added one can beer (a pilsner), and this time I browned my kielbasa before adding to crock. That kept it in tact. So, there you have it! FIRST TIME REVIEW, January 2008: I drained my kraut and added 2 cans of beer. I wish I had a dark beer to use instead. The pork was so tender, no cutting necessary! The kielbasa had split open at the end for me as well. I wonder if browning it a bit before adding it would correct that? We had this for dinner 2 nights later (hmmmm, someone ate all the kielbasa when I went to reheat it), and it was even better. Honestly, however, pork and sauerkraut is pork and saurkraut, and that is the reason I gave just 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMM104

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Excellent recipe. The pork was so tender and delicious with the sauerkraut and kielbasa. I definitely think I will add the kielbasa in later next time as it was almost too soft, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELSY
Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this 1/1/08. I did some tweaking, 1/2 can lager, coating brown sugar, whole large sweet onion chopped, Macintosh apple quartered, drained and rinsed the kraut, I used one other reviewers suggestion about putting the kielbasi in later and that worked great, the house smelled GREAT, the pork roast was so tender you could cut it with the side of a silicone spatula and it just fell apart. overall, rave reviews and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States