Pork Roast with Apples, Beer, and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made this is the slow cooker instead and it turned out wonderful. I used chicken broth instead of beer only because I didn't have beer. I would like to try it with beer next time. Very easy to prepare and yummy indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Thanks for posting this recipe. It was a hit with my family. I especially liked the apples in the recipe. They were sweet and reminded me of applesauce. There was too much liquid, so I think I will add 1/2 bottle of beer next time I make this. This is definitely a recipe I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious and super easy. I seared the roast first which assured it would be moist after cooking. I seasoned it with salt, pepper, garlic salt and Lawry's seasoning while searing. I did not need to add any more beer once the roast went in the oven, it stayed very juicy. Cooked at 275 the roast was done in 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My mom normally makes this every year for New Year's. I did not have beer on hand, so I substituted white wine (Pinot Grigio) Sauerkraut turned out great however I like the pork better with beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Being Pennsylvania Dutch, pork and sauerkraut is a staple, particularly on New Year's Day. This is, hands down, the most flavorful pork and sauerkraut recipe I have tasted or made. Not sure how someone could mess this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Disappointed. I was really excited about this recipe but it turned out to be a dud for us. Ours baked for 3.5 hours and was still swimming in juices - I knew there was no way it'd be cooked off in 30 minutes, so I ended up dumping a bunch off. This probably dumped off a lot of the sweetness. What was left tasted like beer soaked apples and kraut. I'm giving two stars because I really liked the flavor of the pork - it was quite delicious. Unfortunately, I think there are much better ways of getting good flavored pork. This one is going on our DNR list - Do Not Repeat. Sorry. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Easy Peasy. Accidentally left it in too long, but it was completely salvageable. Definitely will make again, this time keeping a closer eye on the time. I also added yams and dusted everything lightly with cinnamon for an extra accent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I was very disappointed in this. The more I tried to fix it, the worse it got. I ended up pulling out the meat and tried to salvage it by making dumplings to fry in with the meat. Never again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Made this tonight and hubby loved it. Mixture of apples,onions,kraut was deeelicious,easy to prepare and make, will make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I loved this recipe. Wonderful blend of flavor. Remember to keep your portions under control. It can be difficult with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States