Pork Roast with Apples, Beer, and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made this is the slow cooker instead and it turned out wonderful. I used chicken broth instead of beer only because I didn't have beer. I would like to try it with beer next time. Very easy to prepare and yummy indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Thanks for posting this recipe. It was a hit with my family. I especially liked the apples in the recipe. They were sweet and reminded me of applesauce. There was too much liquid, so I think I will add 1/2 bottle of beer next time I make this. This is definitely a recipe I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious and super easy. I seared the roast first which assured it would be moist after cooking. I seasoned it with salt, pepper, garlic salt and Lawry's seasoning while searing. I did not need to add any more beer once the roast went in the oven, it stayed very juicy. Cooked at 275 the roast was done in 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My mom normally makes this every year for New Year's. I did not have beer on hand, so I substituted white wine (Pinot Grigio) Sauerkraut turned out great however I like the pork better with beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Being Pennsylvania Dutch, pork and sauerkraut is a staple, particularly on New Year's Day. This is, hands down, the most flavorful pork and sauerkraut recipe I have tasted or made. Not sure how someone could mess this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Disappointed. I was really excited about this recipe but it turned out to be a dud for us. Ours baked for 3.5 hours and was still swimming in juices - I knew there was no way it'd be cooked off in 30 minutes, so I ended up dumping a bunch off. This probably dumped off a lot of the sweetness. What was left tasted like beer soaked apples and kraut. I'm giving two stars because I really liked the flavor of the pork - it was quite delicious. Unfortunately, I think there are much better ways of getting good flavored pork. This one is going on our DNR list - Do Not Repeat. Sorry. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Easy Peasy. Accidentally left it in too long, but it was completely salvageable. Definitely will make again, this time keeping a closer eye on the time. I also added yams and dusted everything lightly with cinnamon for an extra accent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I was very disappointed in this. The more I tried to fix it, the worse it got. I ended up pulling out the meat and tried to salvage it by making dumplings to fry in with the meat. Never again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Made this tonight and hubby loved it. Mixture of apples,onions,kraut was deeelicious,easy to prepare and make, will make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I loved this recipe. Wonderful blend of flavor. Remember to keep your portions under control. It can be difficult with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States