Pork Roast With The World's Best Pork Loin Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Sorry, but this can't be "the best" rub out there. Followed the recipe, except cut the sugar -- it was still way too sweet. I love sweet and spicy together, so I really had high hopes for this, but honestly, the flavors didn't meld well at all and left us with a "hm?" vote. You could eat it -- but there must be a better way to do pork loin. Oh -- and watch your cook time -- use a thermometer! Ours was done very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I use the Smithfield whole pork loins a lot due to their cheap price. I was looking for a new pork loin recipe and decided on this one. I was nervous about the sweet and savory aspect but it was a near perfect balance! I was also nervous about the amount of heat in the spices and was correct about that. The star of this rub is the ginger, cumin, cayenne and sugar combo! I made the rub exactly as stated the only difference is that I grilled the roast as I normally do with another rub I have used for years. I was worried my family would think it too hot or too sweet for a savory meal. They LOVED it!! And so did I! And I have young children (youngest 6.) They admitted it was very spicy but they asked for seconds and polished off the roast! I can see many uses for this rub and I can see melting it and using it as a drizzling sauce. I think it will work great for chicken. I think the next time I make this rub I will cut the black pepper by a tbsp., the cayenne by a half tsp. each. I love heat in my dishes but I believe there was just a bit too much in this rub and it took away from the heavenly combination of ginger, cumin, sugar and peppers. I might increase the thyme just a bit too. All in all it is an excellent base to work from!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Very good on pork ribs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I love this rub and use it often as a start for other recipes to add a little more flavor. I made as described but only used 1 tsp salt since we try to avoid salt when possible in cooking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This was my take on it. I measured everything exact. I didn't read the part that it made extra rub though. I would have cut it in 1/2. How do you know if you even want to make it again as a first time recipe? (My fault but no biggie). I just bought another loin to use it all the first time. Its a rub.... so.... I rubbed it into the meats and I let it marinate for overnight. I cooked it in a crock pot on low. Added onions and garlic and about 1/2 cup of white wine. I like my meat juicy and tender. Well, it was juicy and tender and PEPPERY!!! Now.. I like hot and spicy. More than most. I usually cook for my son and my mom and THEN... for me. My mom says i cook to spicy..... that you cant taste the flavor of the meat. But this wasn't as spicy as it was peppery. I had to drown it in mash potatoes and salads basically. We don't waste food so I was the only one trying to rid of it. So it was edible. But too much pepper - black and red. This is definitely NOT the worlds best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This was delicious, and so easy. I omitted the white sugar, used only 1/4 C of brown sugar, and 1/3 of all the rest of the spices. This was the perfect amount of rub for one roast. Cooked a little longer than the recipe indicated to get to proper internal temperature, but the roast was moist and tender. Picky man loved this, and said he wants this in the regular rotation. This pork roast is vastly superior to those pre-marinated ones from the store, and it cost way less and without all that sodium and preservatives. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Sweet taste from the sugar, with a little aroma from spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Truely an awesome way to cook a pork roast! Amazing flavor and really comes out juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Did not care for pork roast. Rub tasted really sweet but not enough of the flavor of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Loved loved loved it. Even my picky stepson was impressed. The only change I made was eliminating the white sugar (totally didn't need it). And as I had no brown sugar, I used pure cane organic sugar instead. I will make this dish a family staple! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States