Pork Normandy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This recipe was so delicious! I doubled the gravy and did not blend the apples and onions. Can't wait to make it again. Thanks for such a good recipe! Betty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mywraps

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
A nice easy recipe, especially when you have limited options on your pantry. I did use the food processor (see magic bullet) and it was nice to have the smooth texture. I felt like the dish needed something not so we served it over noodles and the family very much enjoyed it. Be aware although the dish tasted great, color was tan in tan in white noodles so it is not the prettiest looking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was delish! I did everything as written except I added a heaping teaspoon of minced garlic with the onions. After everything came out of the oven I took out the pork, and instead of blending it I added a tablespoon of cornstarch (with water) to the sauce. Then I added the cream. It was really yummy! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I think this was great.. I also think that if people would like to tweek things that is fine, then by all means write your own recipe instead of bragging about it on some one elses.. Again love this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Did not care for this too much. I followed some reviewers' suggestions to add more flavor but still felt like this was tasteless. Perhaps it's my American palette since European dishes are often less flavorful than what we concoct in the States. In that vein, this recipe may be exactly what Pork Normandy *should* taste like. But as a fan of spices and flavors, this just wasn't my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Absolutely loved this.....I didn't have hard apple cider, so I just used apple juice. Great recipe just as is, but I also added sauteed mushrooms at the end after the sauce was blended. My husband all but licked his plate! Served it with baked potatoes and put some of the sauce on the potato as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I thought this recipe was very good. It was easy to follow and the only variation I made was using regular Apple Cider rather than hard cider and I reduced the temp to 325 degrees and baked for 40 minutes. My family and I enjoyed it. I do intend to make it again for my family, though not on the usual monthly rotation. I'll probably make it 3 or 4 times a year when we're looking for something 'a little different'. It paired nicely with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was a great recipe that everyone enjoyed. I had a bottle of Granny Smith Apple Cider that I wanted to use in a recipe and this was perfect for it. I made it entirely stovetop and cut the pork into cubes but otherwise followed the recipe and it was great. Served it with mashed potatoes and steamed veg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
My husand is from England and I mad this for him and my parents for our first sunday meal in our new home. It was fantastic! I used woodchuck hard cider. as well as 3 cloves of garlic chopped while browning. the sauce was was just right. Everyone had seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I noticed a lack of seasoning so I added salt, pepper and thyme to the pork before browning it. I put it in a casserole dish and used a little more chicken stock and apple juice instead of cider. When it was done I didn't blend the apples and onions but strained the liquid and then thickened it with a little cornstarch before adding the cream. The meat was so tender and juicy and had some great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gagirl1124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States