Pork Normandy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
My family is the pickiest eaters you've ever seen and they all rated this a 5 star. My 2 daughters don't even like pork! Absolutely the best recipe I've tried from this site so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Love this recipe and have added it to my regulars. You have to use the hard cider though. Apple cider is too sweet. Also I use a little more heavy cream than the recipe calls for and I use a hand blender to puree the apples and onions right in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Excellent! I made this for my elderly French neighbor who grew up in Normandy; She was skeptical of my attempting French (particularly Norman)cooking, but approved this dish highly (as did the rest of the dinner party). My only recommendation is to blend the sauce in small portions since hot liquids expand quickly - as I found out the hard way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I have terrible luck with pork, but this turned out very tender and good. It needed lots of salt and fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This recipe was pretty good. I found the 'sauce' to be more like a thick applesauce than a gravy type of sauce but it was flavorful. I doubt I'd bother food processing the mixture next time and would just keep it whole and pour over the pork. I did think that 45 minutes was too long - it was slightly overdone but maybe my loin was slightly smaller. I'd check it after 30 minutes and go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARA200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
My Boyfriend loved this dish - he continued to use the gravy on bread the rest of the week. I found it a little bland - but good for something different! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
A really high quality result from a novice like me! I was totally impressed, this dish goes really well with potato wedges or fresh veg. I used Pork Chops instead of loin and reduced the oven time to 25-30 minsand it seemed fine. I also scaled the servings to 2 and there was enough sauce for at least 4 so tonight I'm using the left-overs as a pasta sauce. :) Thanks Minow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Leek, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Holmfirth, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I really liked this. I was halfway through making it when I realized that I needed a blender (which I don't have), so I didn't puree the onions and apples. I actually prefer it this way, I think, because I like having the pieces to eat along with the pork. The sauce doesn't really get thick, though. It does *thicken* but it's not a thick sauce. Still, very yummy. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I made this for my fiance with great results. I made some slight modifications to the recipe however: used apple cider instad of "hard" cider, added a clove of garlic when browning the pork, used McCormick's Montreal Seasoning on the pork while browning, added a 1/4 of 14 oz can of saurkraut to the apple mixture before baking, and ended up making the sauce more of a gravy by thickening it with flour in the end). Served with mash potatoes and steamed asparagus. The gravy has a sweet taste and was delicous and the pork was excellent - very tender. I'd make it again. My fiance loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States