Pork Medallions with Port and Dried Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This was very good. My only complaint was that the meat could have simmered with the sauce to absorb more of the flavor. Being on Weight Watchers, I cooked 3 small pork chops and halved the sauce ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I really don't think I did anything wrong here, just too tart for my taste. Maybe I didn't reduce the vinegar out long enough? However, I have a similar way of cooking mushrooms in this kind of sauce. To give it a more mellow taste, I add 1/2 + 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I loved this recipe. I used boneless pork chops and a dry white wine as substitutes for what I didnt have. I am sure the sweeter wine would add even more tang to the flavor and a stronger contrast of the vinegar and the sweet. I also added some crushed garlic to the sauce. Very tasty.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I originally saw this in a Cooking Light magazine and made it for some dinner guests. We're sauce people, so I doubled the sauce and thought that it was just right. It was good, just nothing I'd make a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Very good! The only thing I would do differently next time is add less pepper. It was too much for my taste. I also didn't have any Port so I used a combination of Sherry and Burgundy. I served it with mashed potatoes and green beans. Hubby said it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This was very good. I used onions instead of shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this dish for Valentine's Day because I wanted something special...Everyone -from my oldest teen to my pre-teen daughter loved it and asked for more. It is so easy and elegant I plan to make it for company. Note- I actually used half the amount of balsamic and substituted cider vinegar to soften the flavor of the sauce. I also used garlic instead of shallots. Served with green beans tossed with lemon juice and slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Excellent pork dish. I used ruby red port wine as I couldn't find a tawny port at the store; otherwise, I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
GREAT recipe; made this for friends and family. Just be careful with the pepper-- it's overwhelming and we didn't need as much as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was a pretty good recipe. I think I needed to reduce my sauce more than I did. I personally find the instructions to "reduce by half" hard to follow. I either get too much (too watery) or too little (too salty.) And I can never get it perfect. It would be easier for me if it told how much sauce you should end up with in the end. Never-the-less, I will make it again because I think it has great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States