Pork Medallions with Balsamic Vinegar and Capers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Very tasty dish! I got this recipe by email yesterday in the Daily Dish, which is what prompted me to make it since I had taken out pork tenderloin! Easy to make, and the sauce is very unique and yummy. Enjoyed this with nice green salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I feel badly giving this 3 stars when so many good cooks have raved but... the sauce was so sour, with a vinegar "bite" to it. The meat was very tender and as I was trying to get the sauce to reduce, I kept tasting. I tried to mellow it by adding butter to the sauce, then more chicken broth. Finally called my grandson (a chef) who suggested adding sugar to it. Even after a couple of TBSPS of sugar and some cornstarch to thicken (could not get it to reduce properly), the sauce was still sour. I wish I could figure out what the problem was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is sooo good you will want to lick the pan the sauce was in!. Despite the smell of the armoma from the vinegar my husband loved it! Next time I will double the recipe for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Question? This sounds great but I am gluten intolerant, can anyone reccomend a sub for the flour? I am new a this gluten free thing and need some help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
TEN STARS Fantastic! It also works with pork chops. I doubled the sauce and use more capers. I also sprinkled additional lemon zest on top of the finished pork for a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I didn't flour the medallions (I do not care for the texture like this) and just browned them with the garlic sauce in oil. Otherwise, the only other thing I did differently is to double the sauce per the recommdations of others. It's so yummy; it was perfect with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Oh my, these were SO good. I increased the amount of capers, because I didn't think there was enough. Then placed a thin layer of the sauce in the middle of a small plate, put the medallions on top, and more sauce on top. The presentation looked like it came from a restaurant, and they tasted like it, too! One thing, though. I cooked this twice, the first time exactly like the recipe said. It took FOREVER to get 1.5 inch thick medallions to cook through. The second time, I sliced them about 3/4-inch, and STILL had to cook them an extra 5 minutes or so. If the cooking directions had been more accurate, I would have given five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Yummy...this was simple and delicious. The measurements were perfect, the sauce reduced nicely and the flavors were well-balanced. I didn't use garlic salt, just garlic and I flattened the medallions just a bit before I dredged and cooked it. AND...I had this done and waiting before my asparagus finished roasting! Also served with mashed potatoes. Thanks for a great recipe, Marianne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Marianne, this is OUTSTANDING! I would give it more stars if possible. The sauce was amazing. I had never cooked with capers before, but they blended in with the sauce so nicely. I will be using them more often now. My husband came in the kitchen while I was preparing it and asked what I was cooking that smells so good! To top it off, this dish is so quick and easy to fix it would be good on a weeknight. This one is a winner. We will definitely be making it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by grussem
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I have made this twice and it is delicious! The second time around I sprinkled some sesame seeds on top of the pork medallions and I served them on top of a bed of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States