Pork Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Delicious and a keeper in my recipe box! I had no Marsala so used red wine with a shot of whiskey and a chicken bouillon cube instead. I also cut down on the mushrooms because I didn't have enough - didn't hurt the taste a bit. I didn't want to stir the sauce while the pork chops are still in the skillet so removed the chops into a baking dish, cooked the mushrooms, garlic and wine for 5 minutes in the skillet, poured the sauce over the pork chops and baked in the oven at 350° for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I wanted to do something nice for my wife (of 30 years), so I figured I would try cooking something. I tried this recipe, and my wife loved it! did I mention this is only the 2nd thing I ever cooked, not counting BBQing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Not necessary to measure precisely, as I'm sure the submitter would agree. Excellent combination of ingredients resulting in an excellent dish. Rather than stirring in extra Marsala as suggested by the submitter, however, when the sauce became too thick, I thinned it out with chicken broth. Indescribably delicious. Serve with a simple, lightly seasoned pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
My husband said they were the best chops he'd ever eaten and to give it 5 stars. I didn't have any mushrooms but since the chops are THE THING it worked out well. BTW - I brined the chops in 1/4 cup table salt to 1 qt of water for 30 minutes. It makes them juicy and not dried out when cooked. Just rinse them off after 30 minutes, blot with a paper towel and proceed with the recipe. It will NOT make them salty. Brining works with chicken too. I also added some heavy cream the last 5 minutes of cooking time. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This recipe is super easy and tasted great. I subsituted cabernet for the marsala so I didn't have to buy a whole bottle of wine and it tasted almost the same. My husband said it was resturant quality. I served it with red smashed potatos with feta chesse and sweet carrots. Prefect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Pawlicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunshine Summit, California, USA
Living In: Julian, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Very good! The pork chops were so tender you didn't even need a knife! I finally found a good pork chop recipe! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Readstown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Wow! Found this recipe on allrecipes at 5pm and had marsala for the famiily at 5:45. Everyone loved it even with my substitutions. Didn't have marsala or mushrooms so used cooking sherry and green onions. Delicious! Can't wait to try it with the right ingredients!!!!! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I made this recipe the other night and even my picky grandchildren loved it! I used fresh garlic only. I seasoned the pork with salt and fresh grounded pepper before I fried it. That was the only change I made to the recipe. YUM YUM! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Made this for dinner this evening and I have to say it was fantastic. The pork was truly the tenderest I have eaten, cut with the fork tender. I did remove the meat & let the sauce simmer by itself to let it thicken a bit. I served it with "smashed" red potatoes which were made with chives & sour cream. I paired it with a cabernet sauvignon which offset the sweetness in the Marsala sauce. This is on my list of favs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capntoo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I thought the change from chicken to pork was great idea. I can't say I know exactly what the original recipe tastes like, as I made some changes. I added a 1/2 cup heavy cream and reduced the the marsala to 1/2 cup as well. I also saute'd the mushrooms (crimini) with butter/olive oil and garlic prior to making to the sauce. At the end I added a ts of lemon juice and 2 more T of marsala wine. It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled bone-in pork chops with a smoky marinade.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States