Pork Loin Stuffed with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This was a very good recipe, however I kicked it up a notch and added prosiutto and mozzarella to it. when I spli the roast I added the prosiutto and then mozzarella, then the spinach, then another layer of mozzarella followed by another layer of prosiutto. my wife and friens said it should have been one of the specials on the menu at a resturaunt. it came out sensational. try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I loved the spinach filling in this, however, the sauce didn't do much for me. I actually made this last thurs, and I wasn't sure if it was my buds, or if there was a "taste" that I just wasn't sure about. It was the "taste" & I'm not exactly sure what it is, but I know for a fact that it isn't the filling. I added water chestnuts to the filling, because I had an extra can starring me in the face. The roast itself came out very tasty, nice & tender, but if I were to make this again, I would use olive oil (like in the roasted pork loin, from this site) instead of the sauce because that roast came out fantastic! Use a meat thermometer to ensure proper cooking time & your roast will not be dry. This would be equally great with pork chops as other have suggested! Thanks Mariah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
We agreed the basic recipe was very good. But I would never have cooked it that long. I took it out at 140 degrees and tented it for 15 mins. For my family we added more garlic and some cilantro in the stuffing and more cumin in the sauce. I also make the sauce several hours ahead so the flavors meld, chill it and then bring back to room temp. And since I first made this I've learned to double the spinach stuffing mixture. It is so much better and makes the presentation even more distinct. I also have been known to add a shot or two of bourbon to the sauce!!! This is an update - I originally reviewed it years ago and continue to love it and make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Great recipe and very tasty! If you want to be brave, I like to mix up a sour creme sauce with some spinach, dijon mustard, crushed thyme, a little black pepper and serve with it. It really sets it off! BTW - I like to take the pork out of the oven at 145 to 150 degrees. It will finish cooking by the time you serve, and reduce the chances of dry meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Eddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
LOVED this recipe. This was the first pork roast that my husband liked. I made it for a dinner party and everyone wanted the recipe. When I served some leftovers to friends the next day they wanted the recipe too. I don't think I've ever tasted anything quite like this one, at least in pork. VERY good. I went by the meat thermometer rather than the stated cooking time and the pork was very juicy, I also basted several times throughout. Try this one, very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I just made this recipe for a dinner party and it was a huge success. I didn't think I's like the orange flavored glaze so I substituted apple cider for the orange juice and the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
easy to prepare and not too much fuss. I used fresh baby spinach and a smaller tenderloin, but worked out just fine. I felt the 2 hour cooking time was way too long, so watch that. I also used a little less orange juice, as it was a little overpowering. Overall, a really nice taste. I would do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
I was expecting a tastier dish because it smelled so good while in the oven, however it was just way too dry. It needed some more flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I think maybe the cooking time is way too long. I used a meat thermometer and the roast was done way before the cooking time stated. It turned out very dry and salty. Maybe less cooking time, it will turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
I enjoyed making this reciepe. However, the stuffing didn't turn out as well as I would have expected. It was too wet, I was hoping for a dryer mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

How to Stuff a Pork Loin

See how to butterfly, stuff, tie, and roast a pork loin.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States