Pork Loin Chops in Apple Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Excellent, but I made several adjustments. First, I rubbed the chops down with olive oil prior to placing it in the flour mixture and I used kosher salt throughout the recipe. Secondly, I added shallots while searing the pork and added chopped apple when it was time to simmer. The apples and shallots really made the sauce. Lastly, I had no cream on hand so I used 1% milk and the sauce was amazing and still very rich. I think cream would of been too heavy. Served with mashed potatoes to soak up the sauce. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Very, very good. Apple and pork is one of my favorite flavor combinations. For me the apple flavor was a little too subtle and I added some unsweetened applesauce which perked the flavor up tremendously. Also, for me, I would probably next time add some finely diced shallots. I can see the sauce being served just about anywhere fine food is made even without my tinkering :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I thought this was excellent! The pork chops were moist and full of flavor. The smell of the apple cider while it was cooking was wonderful. The sauce came out perfect. I used light cream, but I think I may omit this next time. It was just a little on the rich side for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I made this last night, and it was pretty yummy. I changed it up a bit and followed some other reviews. I added some applesauce and used apple juice (no cider on hand) and added some cinnamon. I also marinated the pork before I cooked it, with vinegar, salt, pepper, and garlic. I think next time I will leave out the breading part, as it just made a mess in the sauce for me. I also added some diced apples to the pan before I cooked the chops. Then removed them and added them back in when I added the cream. Overall I think this was a awesome recipe, simple and didn't take all night to prepare. I will try this with chicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I changed the recipe to give it more flavor. I doubled the nutmeg, instead of using 1 cup of apple juice I used 1/2 cup apple juice, and 1/2 cup apple cider vinagar. I also crushed 2 small apples and simmered with the chicken, and left them in the pan after removing the chicken for the gravy. I added some brown sugar to taste in the cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Heilder, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This recipe turned out great! The pork chops were nice and moist, not tough. Let me mention one thing I used applesauce instead of apple cider (didn't have cider) it "melted down" perfectly. I also swirled some real maple syrup into the sauce and it added a really nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was delicious and a nice change. I did not have the allspice so I left that out as well as the chicken broth. I also added some sliced onion to the pan when searing the chops, leaving them in and incoporating them into the sauce, I also used 2% lactose free milk instead of the cream and it still made a nice gravy. I thought the apple cider taste would be strong but it was nice and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna K. Crossley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I tried this tonight and it turned out very well. The pork was definitely very tender, and I tend to sometimes dry out pork w/o meaning to. I also used 1/2 apple juice and 1/2 apple vinegar, like another suggested, (no apple cider on hand) and I would recommend this, as it adds a tartness, however, I would only add less than 1/3 cup vinegar and over 2/3 cup apple juice, and then do add brown sugar to the cream sauce at end. I also added the shallots when I seared the chops. My Dad was over for dinner and he is a very good cook - he really liked it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very easy to make and delicious with or w/out the sauce. I didn't have allspice so I used approx. 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cinnamon, and a pinch or two of ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by travlin'granny
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I hate to change recipes but had no cream so used milk as suggested. Also used whole wheat flour since that's what I usually use in recipes. We thought it was moist, tender and excellent flavor thanks to the cider, allspice and nutmeg. The sauce also complimented the baked sweet potato and I thought that rosemary made the perfect garnish since our veggie was a salad on the side. Gotta get that color on the plate! I took the 1st photo posted of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States