Pork Loin Chops in Apple Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Very, very good. Apple and pork is one of my favorite flavor combinations. For me the apple flavor was a little too subtle and I added some unsweetened applesauce which perked the flavor up tremendously. Also, for me, I would probably next time add some finely diced shallots. I can see the sauce being served just about anywhere fine food is made even without my tinkering :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
wow!!! now this is an awesome way to cook chicken. i had to do chicken since my sweety is none too keen on pork. but i love the sauce...i licked my plate. it had a wonderful subtle apple flavour. brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valinutah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was delicious and a nice change. I did not have the allspice so I left that out as well as the chicken broth. I also added some sliced onion to the pan when searing the chops, leaving them in and incoporating them into the sauce, I also used 2% lactose free milk instead of the cream and it still made a nice gravy. I thought the apple cider taste would be strong but it was nice and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna K. Crossley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I thought this was excellent! The pork chops were moist and full of flavor. The smell of the apple cider while it was cooking was wonderful. The sauce came out perfect. I used light cream, but I think I may omit this next time. It was just a little on the rich side for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I didn't care for this very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I changed the recipe to give it more flavor. I doubled the nutmeg, instead of using 1 cup of apple juice I used 1/2 cup apple juice, and 1/2 cup apple cider vinagar. I also crushed 2 small apples and simmered with the chicken, and left them in the pan after removing the chicken for the gravy. I added some brown sugar to taste in the cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Heilder, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This smelled yummy, but it was not that exciting once it was finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very easy to make and delicious with or w/out the sauce. I didn't have allspice so I used approx. 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cinnamon, and a pinch or two of ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I made this last night, and it was pretty yummy. I changed it up a bit and followed some other reviews. I added some applesauce and used apple juice (no cider on hand) and added some cinnamon. I also marinated the pork before I cooked it, with vinegar, salt, pepper, and garlic. I think next time I will leave out the breading part, as it just made a mess in the sauce for me. I also added some diced apples to the pan before I cooked the chops. Then removed them and added them back in when I added the cream. Overall I think this was a awesome recipe, simple and didn't take all night to prepare. I will try this with chicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Excellent, but I made several adjustments. First, I rubbed the chops down with olive oil prior to placing it in the flour mixture and I used kosher salt throughout the recipe. Secondly, I added shallots while searing the pork and added chopped apple when it was time to simmer. The apples and shallots really made the sauce. Lastly, I had no cream on hand so I used 1% milk and the sauce was amazing and still very rich. I think cream would of been too heavy. Served with mashed potatoes to soak up the sauce. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States