Pork Loin Chops in Apple Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This recipe turned out great! The pork chops were nice and moist, not tough. Let me mention one thing I used applesauce instead of apple cider (didn't have cider) it "melted down" perfectly. I also swirled some real maple syrup into the sauce and it added a really nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I tried this tonight and it turned out very well. The pork was definitely very tender, and I tend to sometimes dry out pork w/o meaning to. I also used 1/2 apple juice and 1/2 apple vinegar, like another suggested, (no apple cider on hand) and I would recommend this, as it adds a tartness, however, I would only add less than 1/3 cup vinegar and over 2/3 cup apple juice, and then do add brown sugar to the cream sauce at end. I also added the shallots when I seared the chops. My Dad was over for dinner and he is a very good cook - he really liked it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was good, with the potential to be great...but I found it a little bland. I skipped the coating on the meat as some reviewers suggested, and substituted apple juice and sauce for the cider. It ended up being a little bland. That being said I will be experimenting with this one again in the furture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
My husband almost fell over; this was so good! I didn't have apple cider but had frozen concentrate, so I used 2 tbsp of it. I added cider vinegar as well. I also added apples and onions with the porkchops. Today I'm using hard cider, a bit of apple sauce, and apple cider vinegar with 1/2 & 1/2 for the cream sauce. Great over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was scrumptious and easy! The sauce was amazing! I made no changes to the original recipes and loved it! Honestly, this is the first time in ages that both of my children have eaten all their dinner without complaint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
My husband and I thought this was very good! Next time I will add some cut up apples while the pork is simmering as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Great recipe that makes for some really juicy and flavorful porkchops. I prepared mashed potatoes to go with this and the apple cream sauce was a great compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Fantastic! This dish was great; my husband really appreciated it after a long day at work. I didn't have any apple cider, so I used half apple cider vinegar and half apple sauce and it was nice and tangy. I also added some onions while the pork was browning as some other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Not impressed w/ this. Followed the recipe exactly. The vinegar was very powerful, was almost all you could taste. Tried lots of recipes on this site, this was the first time something did not taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
These were very bland. They were okay, but I certainly won't rush to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Essexville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States