Pork Loin Chops in Apple Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was good, but my wife and myself found the cup of apple vinegar to be a bit overwhelming. Next time, I would use just 1/4 cup and increase the chicken brought or even use white wine. Also, I had some dried cranberries which I added, which gave it a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimR-OCDS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Was a great meal. Used some of the previous comments. Rubbed meat with a little olive oil prior to the flour. Doubled dried spices didn't have fresh on hand. Simmered with sliced onion and cranraisins. Added a little brown sugar & maple syrup. Used a blend of 1% milk & half & half. Be careful not to overcook the meat. Served with mashed & a mixed vegetable. Ate every bit. Husband was pleased with the taste and commented several time on the sauce. Will definitely make and share this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novella
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I tried this with chicken this evening. I followed someone else's suggestion to go without the breading and added a little apple sauce to the mix. This wasn't bad, it just wasn't very exciting. I kept thinking that it needed "something" - just couldn't figure out what would make it taste better. Not likely to make this one again. To the person who said this was to vinegary - the recipe calls for apple cider, not apple cider vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Fantastic! I made the recipe as written (a rarity for me) and was not disappointed. Even my husband who isn't a pork fan enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I really enjoyed the sauce on the dish, the pork however, not so much. I don't understand the point of breading the pork then simmering it in sauce. It just makes it soggy. I will use the idea for chicken breast minus the breading next time. Really good served with fresh steamed green beans and baked yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadeeLuck84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Tweaked it - No Apple cider, so I did 7 ozs. Apple Juice and 1 oz. Cider Vinegar, also added a finely chopped apple at the same time the cider went into the pan. I only had a Pork Tenderloin handy instead of chops, and cut it in half, then lengthwise, into four even-sized pieces; Pork came out tender and moist - made my day. My wife commented that "people usually try to make their sauce smooth but you deliberately made yours lumpy! (with the finely chopped apple)." I would make this again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made a slightly different version tonight. I coated the pork chops in an Italian bread crumb mix and I used apple juice instead of cider. (I was out of cider & didn't feel like running to the store). It was quite delicious. Even my picky toddler ate all of his meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I liked the idea of this recipe but I hated it. Too vinegary. I think if I was to make this again I would use applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Photo by travlin'granny
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I hate to change recipes but had no cream so used milk as suggested. Also used whole wheat flour since that's what I usually use in recipes. We thought it was moist, tender and excellent flavor thanks to the cider, allspice and nutmeg. The sauce also complimented the baked sweet potato and I thought that rosemary made the perfect garnish since our veggie was a salad on the side. Gotta get that color on the plate! I took the 1st photo posted of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Very good but the sauce is too thick. It needs only 1tbsp of starch or perhaps more apple juice for a bit more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States